We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost Hohwarts!!”

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
Staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“almost Hohwarts!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A cold dark January day was brightened up with our lunch in the Tree House.
The staff were friendly and helpful - and the food was sooo tasty.
We cannot wait to make a retun visit in better weather to make more of the surroundings -although we know we will need to book ahead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziejStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    406
    195
    118
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch amazing!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sunday lunch with friends on our visit home! On previous visits I have been to the gardens but had never ate at the treehouse we ideally wanted to have dinner on the Saturday evening but unfortunately they had a wedding - so instead we went for Sunday lunch and it was delicious! I had squid to start - delicious! Then of course traditional roast beef and what can I say, it was stunning the whole ambience of the restaurant, the service and the food - all amazing! Next visit back we will hopefully get in for dinner!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went for a special birthday meal to the Treehouse in January. We went mid week so was very quiet but all the customers were seated in one section of the vast treehouse which made is cosy. The fairy lights and music added to the atmosphere - I have never been anywhere like it. The food was faultless and portions were ample. The staff were very polite. Can't wait for an excuse to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a table for two whilst on holiday in Northumberland. We arrived and walked up a beautifully lit walkway and enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the Potting Shed. When our table was ready we were amazed entering the restaurant how intimate and pretty it looked inside, it certainly exceeded our expectations. We had a beautiful 3 course meal and it was worth every penny. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we have booked again for when we go back in July 2013.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slipping Standards?”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited The Treehouse Restaurant for the first time and we were certainly not disappointed by the stunning exterior which looked amazing on an unseasonably sunny January day.

The interior is just a stunning with beautiful beams, cladding and partitions made from inter-woven branches. The furniture is solid, attractive and almost functional... more than an hour on a hard chair becomes uncomfortable... cushions would be a great addition!

I started with a black pudding and bacon salad and, while the little gem lettuce was fresh and crispy it would have been much better had it been grilled. I would also have preferred a warm poached egg rather than a cold hard boiled egg.

My partner started with melon with sloe gin sorbet. She reported that the melon was satisfactory but the sorbet had a hard icy centre and was lacking in flavour.

My partners main course was a huge salmon fillet with a dill and butter sauce accompanied by straw potatoes. The salmon was tasty but the sauce was cold... I can confirm the potatoes were very tasty if a little over-seasoned.

My main course was pheasant breast wrapped in gravy with a rich haggis infused sauce, skirlie and a fondant potato. Sadly the pheasant was dry and over-cooked and the fondant potato was inedible.

While the treehouse itself is stunning the food was very disappointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasyPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing