We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best chips and gravy ever!!”
Review of Carlo's

Carlo's
Ranked #17 of 119 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best chips and gravy ever!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I havnt found a chip shop that even comes close to this one,a real treat.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    93
    24
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
needham market
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips for a long time”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I visited Carlos and it has limited tables,but the fish and chips is well worth waiting for the fish was fresh and well fried.This is not one of those flash gastro affairs what it does it does well, basic fish and chips at a fair price,well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crackermean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“had better for the price!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

overpriced and tasteless ! award winning fish and chip shop apparently, however not worth the money we spent, greasy chips and really small fish and unsalted peas!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank garry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous chips!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Fabulous take-out chips tonight (Friday at 7pm). Waited about 5 mins. Bit greasy but lovely tasting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips but not a restaurant so disappointed”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Having researched eating places on TA in Alnwick for our weekend there this looked like one of the good restaurants we have in York that also do take away and after the drive up we fancied fish and chips but were disappointed when we arrived to find that it s a take away that also has a few tables, not quite a restaurant. After deliberation we decided to stay anyway. The fish & chips were good but I was not impressed about having to drink out of a polystyrene cup, I think they could have provided glasses for eat-ins. No desserts so a visit to the Co-op for cheesecake and a bottle of wine of finish off the meal.

So a cheap evening meal (£11.50 including drinks) but not a night out

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Carlo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing