We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quality, stylish, affordable, spotless and comfortable accomodation"”
Review of Tate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tate House
Ranked #29 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed 4 nights and could not fault. Of 32 nights away across the UK our twin room with ensuite was the overall best of all 9 different places stayed in . Immaculate in every way the pride of the owner is obvious. Respectful of the shoes at door policy keeps the house clean for all. Breakfast excellent - hats off to Leo who provided a great stay.
Spacious, quiet, tasteful comfortable room, a good breakfast with Alnwick Castle and Gardens (a must see), shops and restaurants just a short stroll. For train travellers - a bus connection to Almouth station is just across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiedreamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Tate House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 234 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

Pleasant location near a good restaurant."

The room was a little small, but it was comfortable.

Very clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorbens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Our stay at Tate House was most enjoyable. The accommodation was excellent, our room and the en suite were spotlessly clean and it was good to come back to a cosy room after a day out in the cold. The breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice. We had no objection to taking our shoes off, as this is what we do anyway when visit other peoples homes, and this is leo's home. We got on well with Leo and we did knock on his sitting room door in the evenings before we went out to give him our breakfast order no problem there. Ihis i may add is the first time we have stayed in a B&B where the bedding and the towels were changed after 3 days and we were only staying for five.We had a great week in a beautiful County staying in first class accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in the large family room. Everything was immaculate. The breakfast was excellent from fresh juice ,cereals through to full English and it was also of good quality ( ie: proper sausage not supermarket rubbish). There are a few negative reports on This property, but they are not justied .If you want a clean well cared for b&b with a host who is pleasant but not in your face, then this is the place. If you are happiest in a dosshouse go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed for two nights, excellent location in the centre and walking distance from all local sights. Beautiful bedroom, very very clean and stylish. Nice attention to detail. Breakfast was disappointing, dried out bacon and sparse toast but good choice of cereal. The owner was a bit moany but quite friendly too. No off-street parking - had to park in a hotel/restaurant over the road through an exceptionally tight gateway. Despite these small reservations I would very much recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldgirlrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Two adults and one teenager staying two nights to visit Alnwick Castle.
Good beds, friendly host, lovely breakfast and SO clean!
Bit of traffic noise in one room, but not really a problem. Love to come again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari_nordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Very good value for money B&B offering clean, comfortable accommodation."

stayed 6 nights in room 3.

Very clean. fab breakfasts !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon1147570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#10 of 69 in Alnwick
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 69 in Alnwick
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#38 of 69 in Alnwick
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tate House

Address: 11 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England (Formerly Tate House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tate House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 'room only' guest house situated within the centre of Alnwick and opposite the Alnwick Gardens and Treehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Tate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tate House Hotel Alnwick
Tate House b&b
Tate House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing