We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd be back in a heartbeat”
Review of Tate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tate House
Ranked #24 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came up to the North-East with my mum, initially to visit Hadrian's Wall but decided to detour and go to Lindisfarne and Alnwick also. What a gem of a B&B! Leo made us feel very welcome and it really felt like a home! Our room (1) was small but was perfect for what we needed, very clean and the bathroom was of a good standard. Also available to our room was a little decking area that we would have loved to use, but it was the wrong weather. Ordered breakfast the night before, the ham and cheese omelette was the best breakfast I have tasted in a B&B and filled you up ready for your day! Ideal location, just up from the shops but within easy walking distance of Alnwick Castle and Gardens (I can definitely recommend a meal at the Treehouse Restaurant there). Parking was also not an issue, the B&B has an agreement with a larger establishment/pub just across the road. Overall a really really lovely experience and I would love to come back!

On a side note, I am somewhat late in posting this review and have recently seen the property up for sale on websites, I hope I am misguided in this! Would be a real shame for Alnwick to lose such an establishment as Tate House! Thanks Leo for making us feel so welcome, it felt like a touch of luxury after some of the other B&B's we stayed at along Hadrian's Wall!

Room Tip: Saw other rooms other than my own, they're larger and more suited to a family or large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexiworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Thanks Leo for making us feel so welcome. Lovely room, nicely furnished, comfortable bed and well appointed en-suite. one of the best breakfasts I have had, PROPER poached eggs! Only regret is we couldn't stay longer.

Many thanks for your hospitality.

Wil and Amanda

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normandycottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend visited Tate's house a few years before and told me about. Because of his discriptions i want to stay there on our Scotland/England trip. We booked one night and it was perfect! Very beautiful und a noble establishment! Leo was a great host and the breakfast was awesome! We'd enjoyed our trip so much that we wanted to stay another night! Too bad it wasn't possible...
With pleasure we recommend Tate House and will come again!
Thank you Leo for having a good time! :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Schnucki111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our second stay at Tate House and this time we took our friend with us, who enjoyed it just as much as we did. The rooms are all spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, and the location is fantastic - just a few minutes walk from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, Barter Books, and the centre of Alnwick with all it's bars, restaurants and cafes. The breakfasts are excellent, cooked by Leo the owner, who is a lovely friendly chap, an excellent cook and keeps the place like a new pin. You can have a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and chocolate croissants, toast, marmalade and jams, fresh orange juice, tea or freshly brewed coffee and you can order a cooked breakfast the night before. The first morning we had the full English and the second morning we had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Both were equally delicious. (There is also an excellent vegetarian cooked breakfast option, which we saw another guest enjoying). We were very sad to leave and look forward to visiting again next year. I'd highly recommend this place to friends and family and anyone who appreciates immaculately clean good quality accommodation with delicious breakfasts in a central location. Alnmouth train station is a 5 minute taxi ride away and there is free parking available at The Plough Hotel opposite, for guest staying at the Tate.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely, Room 1 on first floor has double bed and en-suite and is the smallest, at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Room 1 was clean, nicely appointed but small. Well-decorated and had all the amenities we needed. Breakfast was delicious and the location ideal for wandering all around Alnwick's castle and gardens. In this small town, parking is not available on curb but owner has agreement with folks across the street, so parking was actually easy once you knew where to go. Owner gave great directions to our next port of call, and great recommendation for Italian restaurant down the street (which provided a wonderful dinner that night).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Immaculate large room, comfy bed and a real gem in Alnwick. Handy for town centre with restaurants and access to Alnwick Castle, parking good and friendly but not intrusive host. Recommended places we would not have known about, can definitely see us returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

spent the weekend here with my husband. A very convenient location, well within walking distance of castle, gardens & town.
Stayed in room 1, which although small was very comfortable and well appointed. It was maybe a little noisy on a morning as it is above the kitchen and both mornings we woke to the sounds & smells of breakfast cooking.
The owner is a friendly guy who offers advice on the area and a wide selection of choices for breakfast, though you may not always get what you ask for, though this is hardly a great problem.
Our biggest criticism is the lack of card facilities which came as a bit of a surprise to us on checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#12 of 69 in Alnwick
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#28 of 69 in Alnwick
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Lodge
Holly Lodge
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tate House

Address: 11 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England (Formerly Tate House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $73 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tate House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 'room only' guest house situated within the centre of Alnwick and opposite the Alnwick Gardens and Treehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tate House Hotel Alnwick
Tate House b&b
Tate House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing