We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tate House
Ranked #21 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Middelkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fine discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed two nights in Tate House B&B. The room was very clean, the owner was helpfull (and seems to understand our "belgian-english" language) and charming. Excellent breakfast. Easy parking across the road. Good restaurants in the neighbourhood and a lot of fine places to discover !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
138
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding.spotlessly clean, stylish,nice breakfast,informative staff.good value for money.close to shops,convenient parking opposite,lovely decor.warm and Cosey.would return.very quiet establishment which ensured a good nights sleep.well organised."

Room Tip: We were up the top facing the road,however,was still very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the room at the top facing the main road (Bondgate Without) - complete with nude drawing! It was a bit warm up there so had to open the window which made things a bit noisy. Leo the owner was very chatty and helpful. The place was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent. Parking was available across the road behind the pub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, E Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and was impressed with the cleanliness and standard of the room. Little extras that made it stand out was the addition of a box containing small toiletries, candles, a box of tissues and a makeup mirror on a stand, all very useful! Our host was friendly and charming, gave us good advice of where to eat and what to see. The breakfast was perfectly cooked, especially the eggs! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffin09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Only one night here, but wish it had been more! My top floor room was very comfortable_ tastefully decorated & well-furnished. And there was a radio! Excellent bathroom_ large, modern, well-equipped; not en-suite, but sole use, & situated privately, opposite the room.
Breakfast was just as good; I don't eat meat, and Leo provided a tasty vegetarian option. Definitely a place to put in the address book!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMMW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

An enjoyable two night stay in room 2, spotlessly clean, tasteful neutral décor and Leo was charming without being intrusive. Parking was made easy as it has to be said, the road is busy, however, windows closed meant no noise and if windows were open at night it's not exactly the M6! Plentiful breakfast (special mention for the sausages, locally sourced). Hot water bottle/hair-dryer/decent hangers/reasonable sized TV. Very good value, well situated, so all in all that's more than anyone can ask for.
Mrs D. Audebert, West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dela_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 1 night at Tate House and found room tastefully decorated and comfortable. Very good value for money. Leo took time to add some extra touches to the breakfast which were taken note of and appreciated.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Di F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Gate Guest House
Castle Gate Guest House
#51 of 69 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#31 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tate House

Property: Tate House
Address: 11 Bondgate Without, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England (Formerly Tate House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tate House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 Star Silver ROOM ONLY guest house situated within the centre of Alnwick and opposite the Alnwick Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tate House Hotel Alnwick
Tate House b&b
Tate House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing