We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay with cheerful staff and a very good room”
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #33 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed for one night whilst touring the NE of England and we were very happy with the service, the room and the facilities. The family room was enormous with a six-foot wide bed and a single bed. Although on the ground floor by a busy roundabout we were not troubled by traffic noise.

Breakfast was excellent with attentive staff but we did not sample the evening meal menu.

It was an easy ten minute's walk into town.

Overall I recommend this hotel/pub but, in bad weather, accommodation closer to Alnwich town centre might be more convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset_Food_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 286 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

I would agree with the previous comment that this is a pub with rooms.It is in a good location for walking into Alnwick-10 minute walk-Barter books 5 minute walk. Located on a main road, but we were not kept awake by traffic. We had a family room, which unfortunately was on the ground floor. We were awoken at 6.20am on a Sunday to creaking floorboards and continuous footsteps from the room above. The manager apologised and explained they had tried numerous things-raising the floor level etc , but because the building is old it is a ongoing problem. The room was spacious, but the decor dated and shabby-with mismatched furniture and a not very clean bathroom. For £100 per night i would have expected more.
The plus side is the restaurant-we couldn`t fault it-we atre there both nights.Very good choice and some unusual dishes as well as traditional-reasonably priced.Also kid`s menu was good.The staff were all very helpful and the service excellent. I would eat there again but not stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knaptonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

There is no getting away from the fact that this is a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel. Unless you want to sit outside amongst the smokers there is nowhere other than your rather dark room or the bar to go, and there were ashtrays attached to the walls outside the family room. There was not a good hot water supply, and we had to boil kettles to get the bath hot enough to use. The pub is on a busy roundabout, and although handy for the town, it is not a relaxing location.
Plus points - the food was excellent, and the restaurant staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy64Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Booked for two nights with some trepidation and fairly low expectations given some of the other reviews. We asked for two twin rooms and got two huge family rooms for £90 BB per room per night. Rooms were clean and well equipped with spotless kettle and a wide range of biscuits and coffee,tea, hot choc. Beds extremely comfortable and rather nice toiletries provided in the loo. Only criticism is the pathetic dribble of water from the shower - the water was nice and hot, but they need to do something about the water pressure. Double glazing kept out traffic noises and we spent two very comfortable nights there.
The lounge bar had a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the hanging baskets were most impressive. The outside terrace had an awning to keep off the drizzle and heaters. We ate both nights in the restaurant. First night we sampled the carvery - fantastic value for money. Found it so good we decided to eat there the second night. The menu had a wide range - we ordered 4 different dishes and each one was cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.
I am not sure whether the Oaks has raised its game in light of earlier reveiws, but I certainly would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piglit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Reading other comments about the hotel before I stayed there, I thought it was going to be a scruffy hole, however I was pleasantly surprised!
Upon arrival we were greeted with well kept hanging baskets and a neat enterance, it's just a shame that the receptionist wasn't all that helpful.
When we found our room it was very clean, had all the esentials and had a cosy feel.
I cant comment on the food (evening meal) as I had mine aty the Alnwick Tree House (superb, although somewhat pricey) but breakfast was hearty, just what the doctor ordered. The room was very hot in the night, even with the window open so i didn't sleep all that well, but never mind!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curly0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We had stayed here before a few years back and were a bit concerned at the poor reviews that had been posted recently. We had booked to stay for a coiple of nights to celebrate my 60th birthday and were delighted to find the the Hotel was a good as we remembered it. The staff were all very friendly, very helpful. The room was very clean and very well equiped and the meals! The food was wonderful both in the evenings and at breakfast. Ok the waitress do hover but it is only in cases you want something!.
We will definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai.Owens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Stayed here about 5 years ago and remembered it fondly so very disappointed this time.

Room: Dingy with kettle on floor by tea making facilities. Heating required intervention from reception, plastic tumblers, one packet of biscuits, one shared bedside lamp between twin beds.

Food: So bad we only had one course. Prawns cooked until they were chewy in a rich sauce with a few over cooked vegetables. Music too loud - asked for it to be turned down and the waiter came to our table and reached over our heads to turn the speaker off leaving a sudden hush in the room.

Bar: Okay except for the small children running around squealing in the early evening.

Just don't waste your money - I really wish we'd gone for a B & B instead.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleagil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#24 of 69 in Alnwick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#11 of 69 in Alnwick
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#26 of 69 in Alnwick
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $114 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing