We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #35 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Lunch today was excellent as it usually is. Cod and chips beautifully done. Had the fully month but the pensioners meal is very good value. Sorry I couldn't be here Sunday as the toast dinners and Yorkshire puts are lovely

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    87
    34
    18
    18
See reviews for
56
98
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Excellent location especially if visiting Alnwick. Stayed for one night. Had a large room on the ground floor so moving luggage very easy. Understand a refurbishment programme is underway. Our room was quite dated and very hot. One window did not open so found the night rather uncomfortable. That said the bed was nice and comfortable.

Cooked breakfast was very good. Also a selection of cereal and fruit - albeit tinned. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi

Would definitely stay again if in area

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Couldn't fault the food at all, the service or the beers, only thing is some of the bedrooms are dated and the mattresses are rock hard and the pillows had no support, but clean...no toiletries in the bathrooms, I would go back but only in one of the newer rooms. Staff were very good and the manager is a nice guy.

Room Tip: ask for a newer room, take your own pillow and toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

i stayed here saturday just gone (02/08/2014) as part of a wedding party.
i shared a room with a friend & her daughter which was a lovely size. free tea, coffee & biscuits, ironing board for use & hairdryer which to me is looking after the little extras that you sometimes dont get in a hotel. bed was nice & comfy with 3 pillows! bathroom was massive with a bath & shower. bath & shower could do with a bit of updating but other than that it was fine. lovely big fluffy, white towels & a selection of soaps & bath/shower gels to choose from. My only gripe would be that it is set on the main rd into Alnwick so you hear the traffic all night, but that cant be helped because of its location.
I only had breakfast here which was totally adequate; choice of cereals, fruit juice, rolls etc then the waitress cam & took your order for your breakfast & you could have whatever you wanted, you werent just stuck with what was on the menu. I had the full northumberland breakfast (it came very quickly, no hanging about!) which consisted of bacon, egg, sausage, beans, tomatoes, black pudding, mushrooms & 1/2 slice of fried bread, there was also toast, jam & marmalade & tea or coffee included; so there was something for everyone, even for the fussiest of eaters!!
Staff were very freindly and accomadating although to be fair i didnt really have much to do with them apart from the waitress & the guy I paid my bill to, but they were very friendly to say the least. All in all I had a pleasant stay, not too expensive & would definitely stay there again; i am actually planning on booking up soon for a weekend break in December. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the opposite side to the main rd as quite noisy all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of my birthday treat. It was conveniently located a short walk from Alnwick centre and had plenty of car parking. Our dinner and breakfast were delicious with generous portions, while the staff were welcoming and friendly. So was the owner, who was an excellent advertisement for the benefits of weight training. Good sized room with very large bed and all the facilities we expected including wiFi. The bar and the beer-garden were also pleasant and not too crowded or noisy. Although our room faced the road, traffic noise was minimal and we both slept very well. Would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed last week for 4 nights, arrived Tuesday afternoon met with a smile, shown to our room. Lovely big room with plenty of storage space, bathroom again large and spotless. Back down stairs for a drink at the bar before exploring Alnwick same lady who had shown us to our room, very friendly and helpful on where to visit. Decided to eat in the hotel that night, excellent food at fantastic prices, there is an early doors menu and extensive a la carte. If you are looking for fancy not enough to feed a sparrow type food with jus at inflated prices this is not the place for you. Good honest English grub well cooked and served with a smile this is heaven. We stayed four nights and decided couldn't find better so ate in the hotel every night. The real ale and sensibly priced wine and spirits may have had something to do with it. Can't forget breakfast the Northumberland full breakfast fantastic, any combination of what was on offer no problem, if you left the table hungry it was your fault.
Must mention the staff they were brilliant, it was busy every day but never had to wait and service was always with a smile.
Only one slight issue the pump to take away the waste water slightly off putting at first but no problem after that, might be worth informing/warning guests on arrival.
The location was great especially traveling from the south, 5 minutes off the A1. Around 10 to 15 minute stroll into Alnwick, we are getting on a bit so a youngster most likely 5 minutes. Easy access by road to all attractions.
Must mention Dave Gray's Puffin Cruises from Amble http://www.puffincruises.co.uk/ only takes around 12 passengers at a time so need to ring but what brilliant trip.
If we are ever in that area again guess where we will stay, you have got it The Oaks great value, location, food,beer and above fantastic staff. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent two nights at The Oaks Hotel. I paid a great rate and was surprised to the room, for the price I paid. Large, nice furniture, great big bed! Very comfortable.

I had fish and chips the first night, and although the chips weren't the best I have had, they were good and the fish (cod) was perfect!.

Breakfast was a full Northunmberland breakfast, with loads of food.

Easy walk to the bus station, Alnwick Castle and a short taxi ride (less than ten pounds) from the train station.

All and all, this was a great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GhostHunterSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#65 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#6 of 12 in Alnmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#28 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.3 mi away
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 17 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing