We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #34 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Morpeth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brilliant place to bring family!! Lots of choice, great prices and lots of ales to choose from! I've dined here 3 times in the last week bringing 3 lots of family there and each time has been superb!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyCJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    92
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
57
105
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went here for a family meal after a day at the castle and gardens. We arrived after six on a Friday night and the staff kindly moved three tables together for us. The interior was very warm and welcoming and the staff eager to please. Most ordered the roast beef or pork while I had the scampi. It was all excellent, the roasts had very good portions with lots of vegetables and the chips with the scampi were thick and very tasty. The prices are good value for money. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God' own County
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed a night in February. Big room, very comfortable & warm. Shower was disapointing, lots of towels. Great meal with friends (we used to live in Alnwick, we remember when the hotel was a garden centre). Breakfast was good with local kippers from Robson's in Craster.
Helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Res38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights as we were in the area for a wedding. we had two rooms. ours was the family room. gorgeous room with everything we needed. rooms were immaculate, food was lovely and the staff were great. nothing was too much trouble. would definitely stay again if ever in the area. thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddysplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed the night this weekend whilst attending a wedding reception in Alnwick. Very quick and easy check-in. We were allocated a bedroom (room 20) in the annex of the hotel. Large and comfortable room with a four-poster bed. Room included a cd player (with complimentary cd's) ironing board and iron, kettle, large flat screen TV. Large bathroom with lovely thick towels.

Breakfast was well presented.

Overall very impressed and would certainly recommend to others. On a negative, but this is just a personal opinion, the bed was rather soft for our liking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had lunch in the bar. We all had roasts which were delicious. Best pub food I have had for a long time. The 2 negative points were that you don't get much gravy and I thought the customer service skills of the owner left a little to be desired. However as the food was amazing the negatives seem insignificant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loveholidays23355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed the weekend with a friend as an oasis for a girlie catch up after Christmas shopping at Metro Centre

You couldnt have a more friendly welccme from the host who was also busy with the bar and restaurant when we arrived.
We had a lovely room with comfy beds (double and 2 singles) loads of cushions and pillows. Clean - and I'm a stickler for that so this is a big plus. loads of fluffy towles and general bathroom amentities.
Very glad we stayed in for our evening meal - the steak was the best ever - tender, full of flavour and portions to fill the hungriest guest. Some great fish options too with a wide variety on the specials board.
Fresh kippers for breakfast - part of a good selection on the Northumbrian (not English) breakfast choices.
In easy walking distance of the town centre and the Alnwick gardens / castle.

Will definitely visit again .!!

Room Tip: we had room 24 on the ground floor - spacious and comfortbale with 2 single and one very large doubk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#63 of 67 in Alnwick
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#25 of 67 in Alnwick
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Shepherds Rest
The Shepherds Rest
#12 of 17 in Alnwick
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing