We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oaks Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had lunch in the bar. We all had roasts which were delicious. Best pub food I have had for a long time. The 2 negative points were that you don't get much gravy and I thought the customer service skills of the owner left a little to be desired. However as the food was amazing the negatives seem insignificant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loveholidays23355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    34
    19
    20
See reviews for
60
108
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed the weekend with a friend as an oasis for a girlie catch up after Christmas shopping at Metro Centre

You couldnt have a more friendly welccme from the host who was also busy with the bar and restaurant when we arrived.
We had a lovely room with comfy beds (double and 2 singles) loads of cushions and pillows. Clean - and I'm a stickler for that so this is a big plus. loads of fluffy towles and general bathroom amentities.
Very glad we stayed in for our evening meal - the steak was the best ever - tender, full of flavour and portions to fill the hungriest guest. Some great fish options too with a wide variety on the specials board.
Fresh kippers for breakfast - part of a good selection on the Northumbrian (not English) breakfast choices.
In easy walking distance of the town centre and the Alnwick gardens / castle.

Will definitely visit again .!!

Room Tip: we had room 24 on the ground floor - spacious and comfortbale with 2 single and one very large doubk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tipped up ( twice ) 5 minutes after their Special Carvery Menu had finished - The staff happily brought me a plate piled high with the meat of my choice.

They have a range of interesting desserts, too.


The staff appear to have been working there a long time- a good sign.


They have regular travelling stayers and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Telephoned the oaks hotel to make a reservation for the weekend. Didn't get as far as to book room as the woman who took my enquiry on reception had a terrible attitude. Very rude, shouted at me down the phone when I asked her to repeat the details as I had not heard the 1 st time. Totally shocked this woman is on front line in a hotel. Showed no people skills or understanding at all.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the second visit to this restaurant and once again food delicious and very good value for the price we paid. Staff were very pleasant and helpful really went out of their way to help choose from menu. Thanks to all, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was suggested this hotel by a business associate I was visiting. They did not recommend but did say that others had stayed here.

As is always the case with these non-purpose built hotels, the room you get will determine your experience. Please bear that in mind when you are reading this review.

I had Room #23. A very large room with a large bathroom. Unfortunately it being a large room and it being a cold November day, the room took an age to warm up. I left the room to go to a work commitment and returned at 12am. The room was very warm on my return but there was a loud noise coming from somewhere. I couldn't determine where it was coming from so called reception. No-one answered. I went out into the cold to go to reception but the main entrance was locked and looking through the glass door I could see that no-one was at the reception desk. I went back to my room and eventually found the noise stopped when I turned off the radiator. The choice I had was to be warm but with noise or be cold without the noise.

At 6.30am I was awoken by the person/people in the room directly above me. They were merely walking in their room but the floorboards creaked so much and the sound came straight into my room. Also their waste water pipe ran through my room behind some thin wooden boxing so every time they flushed their toilet or had a shower I could hear the water escaping. Very loud.

The bathroom was big but for some inexplicable reason the toilet was positioned right up against the radiator. I had to use the toilet sat at an angle.

The staff were averagely friendly.

The breakfast was good.

My overall opinion of this place is that it is not terrible but below average and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and I would not stay here again. Maybe if I had a different room experience my feeling would be more positive but I don't think so. Given that there seems to be many alternatives I think I would try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: If you do chose to book at this hotel do not stay in Room 23. My colleague stayed in Room 22 and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idle_Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we came to see Northumberland we stayed at this hotel.
Nice, warm atmosphere, fantastic food, helpful and friendly staff.
Great location from where to visit the many tourist spots in the area.
Highly recommend it! Hope to return next spring.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
514 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 67 in Alnwick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
1.8 mi away
The Shepherds Rest
The Shepherds Rest
#12 of 17 in Alnwick
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 67 in Alnwick
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Property: The Oaks Hotel
Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oaks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing