We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in June. Our room was beautiful, lovely and clean and inviting. Philly greeted us upon our arrival and explained where everything was. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Breakfasts every morning were wonderful affairs, sat with the other vacationers, which enabled us to learn more about local popular places to visit and popular places to eat out. Every evening, on return to our room, we found that Philly had left us two slices of homemade cake, together with homemade biscuits, which was an extra treat!
Northumberland is a great place to explore, and if ever we visit the county again, we will be sure to stop at Redfoot Lea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevenw8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 468 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from a few days in Alnwick staying at Redfoot Lea and I just had to write a review on trip advisor as to how fantastic the accommodation is. From the moment we walked in the door Philly and Andrew are the perfect hosts to offering a glass of wine upon arrival, to the very luxurious room, the locally sourced home cooked breakfast, and homemade cake (made by Philly's own hands), everything is just 5 stars. I would recommend to anyone who wants a very well appointed base to explore the fabulous Nothumberland Coast.
Being close to the busy A1 road you can not hear the traffic, very peaceful night sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emperor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is just the place to stay for exploring the historic and natural sights of Northumberland. Located just outside Alnwick this very smart and relaxing B & B has extremely comfortable beds in spotless, stylishly decorated bedrooms, with powerful ensuite showers. Breakfast is simply the best we have ever experienced in a B & B anywhere and is served at a long table where you have the fun of chatting to other guests and where Philly and Andrew extend their friendly, helpful welcome. Thanks to their kindness and attention to detail, our few days in Northumberland were a real treat - after a day's walking and exploring you can look forward to delicious homemade cake to welcome you back to your room. It's a long way to go, but we are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have just arrived home after what I believe is our 7th visit to the wonderfully welcoming Redfoot Lea. Everything was just as I remembered it- perfect! The beds are comfy, the linen is crisp, the shower is super-powerful and the breakfast is world class. There are numerous tasty choices which can lead to a lot of order-envy the following morning! Everything is delicious and all the produce is locally sourced. In the afternoon there's always beautifully light home-made cake to sample. There's no need to go hungry at this B+B! Philly's warm welcome makes you feel valued and relaxed. So relaxed that it's quite possible to while an afternoon away in the sunny living room and forget there's the beautiful world of Northumberland on your doorstep! I can't recommend this place enough! Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the most wonderful,friendly place to stay thanks to Philippa and her great attention to detail.
Comfortable, spotless rooms with every attention to detail (including home made cake!)
Very peaceful despite being close to the A1 and the most delicious breakfast you could wish to start your day.
We have stayed several times now and are already planning our next trip!
Thanks Philippa

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffield54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a find, we went for a short break with friends to Alnwick to visit the castles and gardens, Phiilppa and Andrew were the perfect hosts, the rooms were warm and welcoming and we were well provided for with treats and the cake in the afternoon went down very well. You could not fault the breakfasts with lots of choice, with a variety of fruits and cereals and full breakfast options would recommend Redfoot Lea to anyone wishing a relaxing break within easy access to all the attractions Northumberland as to offer

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a wonderful B & B. We were made very welcome by Philly and Andrew. Excellent bedroom, comfy beds, good location. All the little extras you would expect in a 5 star hotel, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you both for an excellent stay - we will return !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
7.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 69 in Alnwick
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast

Address: Greensfield Moor Farm, Alnwick NE66 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $131 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redfoot Lea is part of a recently converted farm steading, situated in buildings dating back to the 1850's. The building boasts panoramic views of arable farmland. The house has been tastefully converted to combine modern and traditional features which aid a warm and friendly atmosphere. Ideally situated on the outskirts of alnwick (1.5 miles) Redfoot Lea is within easy reach of the coastal route and local attractions such as Alnwick castle and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redfoot Lea Bed And Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing