We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Silence is golden”
other travelers have booked this property
View to Cheviot from outside the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Cheviot from outside the cottage.
Private parking in front of the cottage. Cosy atmosphere with a log burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
View to Cheviot from outside the cottage.
Private parking in front of the cottage.
Cosy atmosphere with a log burning stove.
Spacious sitting room
Kitchen with a view - wow!
King size bed
Single bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dunners21
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Silence is golden”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Rothlea Cottage.

The whole week has been amazing. The slience and views are superb and we would highly recommend. My comments below are just constructive guidance.

On arrival, no outside light in the dark, in heavy sleet and a wicked easterly gale made getting the key from the box a little bit of a couple discussion challenge, but once inside, we found the cottage very welcoming and warm and with some timed lights on. Fire lit, we were very warm and cosy.

The cottage is great with all the facilities you need. It loves low level lighting which is great in the living room but not so great in the kitchen at this time of year but when light, the cottage is amazing.

Not a major issue for most but as I am very tall we always look for no bed end and the current main bed picture shows none but there is a very nice metal bed end there now which for most would be fine! But a comfortable mattress.

Once the weather warmed up, the countryside has all to offer. Marvellous local walks across fields and into Thrunton Woods. But no distance to the lovely towns of Wooler and Alnwick and of course the coast. So much to do and see.

We loved the week we had at Rothlea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODBuryst...
Bury st Edmunds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage. Great location”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a wonderful week at Rothlea Cottage. The cottage is in a lovely rural setting with great views, and close to both the coast and the national park. The cottage is well equipped and is a lovely place to come home to relax in after hiking or enjoying the many other delights of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have had a wonderful week at Rothlea. The cottage had everything we needed. The cottage is peaceful but not isolated. The views in all directions are lovely and we saw plenty of stars when the sky was clear. The cottage is close enough to the main road to be able to get out and about easily but not that close that you can hear the noise.
Our mobiles would not work but the wi fi did and there is a landline for emergencies so it was not an issue for us.
There is plenty to do and see in the area both close by and further afield depending on how far you want to travel on the day.
We thoroughly enjoyed our break and would highly recommend Rothlea Cottage to anyone wanting to visit this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable home from home in a lovely rural peaceful location”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a very comfortable house with everthing needed for a great holiday week.

the house was fully equipped with everything needed.

The location enabled easy access to the cheviots and to the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les P
1 review
“The best cottage we've stayed in”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A very clean and comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting. The owner had thought of everything - a real home from home. We would like to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner provided everything we needed
Liked least: Settee not that comfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Thank you ! There are always things we try to improve on each year but it is the peace and quiet, yet so close to the beaches, castles and hills that we love so much. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachaelni...
2 reviews
“Great cottage - cosy, warm and immaculate”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cottage was tidy and spotlessly clean on arrival and with minimal directions was very easy to find. The cottage is in a great location for days out as it's only a mile to the nearest main roads although you wouldn't think you were anywhere near a road when you're laying in bed looking out of the window at the sheeps grazing in the field opposite. The fire kept the cottage cosy and warm during the days when our walks were rained off. Great location for exploring the coast and more inland walks. We did a circular of Rothbury and then craster which was great! One niggle was that the internet connection was not great and as I needed to do a little work while away this caused problems. The other thing not related to the cottage as such was that the two closet pubs / eateries didn't serve food during the week or even open very much. I'm not sure whether this was because of the time of year but it meant we always ate in Alnwick or Rothbury and one of us had to drive back. All in all though a great cottage and the photos really don't do it justice. It's surprisingly spacious and very well turned out. We really didn't want for anything while we were there and I really would recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Many thanks, we are looking forward to a break there this weekend :) BT have confirmed there was a faulty on the phone line, it should be fixed in 3 days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen1752
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quiet and well-appointed cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A very quiet location; cows in the back field and no traffic noise. Easy to get to and to park. I was so glad I wasn't fighting the traffic in town.
Very comfortable and well-appointed. We enjoyed staying here.
No restaurants within walking distance so we ate in a lot. The kitchen has everything you need. Pub in nearby village serves good food at weekends.
The cottage is in a great location for visiting both the coast and inland places. Lots of tourist info was provided.
I would recommend it to people who like a quiet location and eating at home.
Could use some more light for reading by in the evening so we improvised by moving the table lamps.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the stay and many thanks for taking the time to enter a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing