We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friend said it was good .”
Review of The Alnwick Arms - CLOSED

The Alnwick Arms
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: We are also DOG Friendly
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A friend said it was good .”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Not the poshest place we have been,but clean and the barman(who was doubling up as a waiter as one member of staff was absent) was friendly helpful and apologized for the delay.It was well worth the wait...one slice of beef covering half the plate and cut like a steak 4 roasties 2 yorkies 5 veg and new potatoes along with a full gravy boat(not granules) couldnt have done better myself and all for £5.95 each,we actually left food,never been known before,couldnt have eaten another morsel.£4 for a large excellent pinot hubbies pint was good ,definitely going back,And guess what it wasnt groupon or living social,lol.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pollywins48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday (late) lunch”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

On a weekend away in Northumberland we were looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday afternoon. Happened on the Alnwick Arms as most other pubs had stopped serving food. Ordered two Sunday lunches and couldn't believe the quality and amount of food for the money. As a Yorkshireman, I couldn't have asked for better value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Yorkshire puddings”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed in Alnwick for the weekend and found this pub cheap food and all home cooked large portions to we had two giant Yorkshire puddings with beef homemade chips and fresh veg.for only £10

will be back in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor. Both of us had the small roast beef lunch and it was gorgeous. Glad I chose small as this was more than enough. The beef was so tender, veg came in two separate dishes roast potatoes, mash, cabbage, carrots, turnip & cauliflower. The Yorkshire was perfect and homemade and a huge gravy boat. Absolutely delicious! Staff were welcoming.

Helpful?
2 Thank truliejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were tempted to try the Alnwick Arms last week after hearing such good reviews on their Sunday lunches, we were so surprised and impressed. The food was wonderful, all fresh - not frozen, with really large portion sizes, would highly recommend this pub as Sunday lunch is such good value. Children welcome too

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Arms also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing