We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alnwick Arms

The Alnwick Arms
Ranked #78 of 116 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We are also DOG Friendly
Almería
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, gorgeous gravy And beef that melts in your mouth, definitely worth a visit. A good selection of desserts for those Who arn't calorie counting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The sign says good home cooked food, how true that is. We Stopped here for a bite to eat and was really surprise by the quality and the quantity of the food. Give this a go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly homely place to eat and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Came upon this pub by chance when we stayed in Alnwick end of sept , we were greeted by warm friendly staff with great senses of humour and a barman that gave excellent measures !! Lol
We decided to have a meal and we went for the scampi Wow when it came out it was huge the chef doesn't believe in small portions it was lovely and I had the nicest varied salad I have had as a side dish in a very long time .
We returned on Sunday for Sunday lunch at tea time and again the Sunday dinner was huge infact I went Oh my god how am I gonna eat all that loads of veg n roasts n homemade york puds. I didn't manage it all but what I did have was nice good old wholesome cooking .
I wish them every success and if I'm ever in Alnwick again I will be calling in again that's for sure

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kh1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have had three beautiful meals here.....truely amazing home cooked food at excellent prices....I will definatly be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sazmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the alnwick arms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

we have just had a four day break in Alnwick and had our meals at The Alnwick Arms, after the first meal there was no way we were going to look elsewere, the pub is spotlessly clean,we were made very welcome and the food was to die for,eveything was cooked perfectly,real chips no frozen rubbish,over the four days we tried different meals and they were all perfect, we were very happy with the quality and the quantity and they were good value for money, we will be back again, good luck to Geoff &Chris the new owners

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kath t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Arms also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing