We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Alnwick Castle
from $19.42
More Info
from $59.34
More Info
from $58.05
More Info
from $54.18
More Info
Reviews (4,728)
Filter reviews
4,704 results
Traveler rating
2,809
1,263
409
126
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,809
1,263
409
126
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broomstick training state rooms harry potter film tour dragon quest percy family location tour broom stick lost cellars broomstick flying dressing up all ages great family day steeped in history stately home fish and chips family ticket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 4,704 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very grand castle but mainly geared up for families with children that like Harry Potter. They had HP broom training on the green for the kids and the big kids .
Great day out in the sun. The gardens are fantastic and the waterfall is breathtaking.

The views from the castle walls are
outstanding

Parking can be an issue so get there early. Also it’s not cheap at £58 for two adults for both the castle and gardens.

If you get chance have a walk around the village, it’s a lovely place.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank stevenf337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled all the way from Cornwall to site see over the coast of Northumberland. Alnwick castle, being one of the sites on our agendas, was a terrific historic adventure. A good variety of activities for anyone to enjoy, the weather was incredible and really set the mood for a castle trip. However, this is where the enjoyment came to a halt.
The restaurant...
very understanding of the wait to be seated or to be served due to high number of population in the castle.
Young members of staff were very reassuring and very helpful. They We’re accomodating and friendly. Whereas the mangeress of the restaurant couldn’t cope under the pressure of a fast paced environment. The lady was quite aggressive towards staff and made it obvious she was acting/ feeling in a manic way. It was very uncomfortable to watch and I empathised with the staff due to having a past working in the same industry.
Made the whole atmosphere in the restaurant very uncomfortable and unenjoyable, it made us feel as if we should rush to get out for the staff to be under less stress from the manager.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Mariedodds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Easter Sunday and arrived early to avoid the crowds having pre booked tickets also on line which also got 10% discount off gate price. We also took part in the "Movie Tour" which was fascinating. Didn't know so many films had used the Castle as a location. Our guide was extremely informative and made it really interesting. The was a lot of Harry Potter inspired activities going on so well worth a visit with children. We actually watched the Broomstick Training which looked fun. The State Rooms are worth a look too. We spent about 3 hours there which included a coffee and cake break, the tour lasting about 45 minutes and exploring the castle and grounds. We really enjoyed our visit and would return with grand children in the future.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank haloftermtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a lot to see and do here, and if you have kids there are Harry Potter themed activities. The castle is well preserved and the state apartments are stunning to look around. Be aware you cannot use cameras and mobile phones in the apartments. The views outside over the surrounding countryside are beautiful. There are also the usual eateries and shops selling souvenirs. We visited in April when all the daffodils were in full bloom.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Pushti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Alnwick castle because of the Harry Potter connection. Unfortunately our GPS took us to the wrong castle so we eventually arrived here late in the day. We just had enough time to look around the state rooms, which had some of the most magnificent ceilings I have ever seen.

The day of our visit was sunny and warm and we watched loads of little kids trying out their broom riding skills!

The castle is spectacular as are the views.

I wish we had arrived earlier so we could have taken some of the different tours available as I feel these would really enhance your visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Janine_CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews