We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West end quality, country prices!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alnwick Playhouse & Arts Centre
Attraction details
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“West end quality, country prices!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The theatre offers eclectic range of events from live music, to community theatre and digital streamings, as well as dance events, so there is always something to interest. It is a delightful old building, recently freshened up, run by an enthusiastic team, who keep in touch with local demand, and offerings form national and international artists, ensuring the events are good quality and meet all tastes. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and everything works well to make the visitor feel comfortable and welcome.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ModernPeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Alnwick Playhouse!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

10 of us visited here for the community pantomime of Sleeping Beauty. Our family group comprised grandchildren, sons, daughters, etc. - a wide spectrum!
Our first visit as a group, but certainly not our last. We were all in the second row from the front of the stage so our experience was very hands-on. The theatre is just amazing for a small community like Alnwick. We are justly proud of it, too! Within its walls, there is also an art gallery featuring, amongst others, local artists. For pre-theatre performances there is a café area for snacks, etc. Additionally, there are the latest cinema releases on selected evenings giving this venue entertainment for all whatever your tastes.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Hopefully, you will too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dracula play”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lovely theatre, we sat in the front row for the performance of Dracula and felt like we were part of the play. Got drinks easily at the interval and the staff were friendly. Easy parking nearby

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seahouses, Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good local picture house”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have never seen a show in the Alnwick Playhouse although I have heard many good reports about them. I usually go to the Playhouse with my grandchildren to see a movie. Good little cinema just be aware that some of the seats have very little leg room and I have noticed that they have changed their seating so that the rows with better leg room are now premier rows and therefore slightly dearer, but for the comfort worth the extra.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding facility”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love the Alnwick Playhouse. They show movies, live shows and live streaming from various sources. Well worth a visit. Check out their web site.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alnwick Playhouse & Arts Centre also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Alnwick Playhouse & Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing