We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Mivesi

Mivesi
Ranked #24 of 119 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We would like to offer you a warm welcome to our family business Mivesi: English Cafe and Indian Restaurant located in the centre of the beautiful Market Town of Alnwick.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were in a group of 13. The food and service were excellent. We pre ordered our food which was a good idea on their behalf. The manager and staff were lovely. Take your own alcohol, they don't have a bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mynameisnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    102
    24
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was really tasty and the service excellent. Our young waiter, ? Fonhad, was very attentive and contrary to previous reports we didn't have to wait too long for our meals. We took our own wine and they brought an ice bucket to the table. We both had zalfrezi, prawn and chicken and shared 2 starters, probably shouldn't have had starters as couldn't finish our main meals - Fonhad offered to put it in a doggybag to take away. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pammy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“mivesi”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Must be the best restaurant in Alnwick! The food and service - fabulous. Really authentic dishes served by very caring and professional staff. Dont go to this restaurant if you want FAST FOOD -its probably not going to happen. This is because the food is cooked from fresh and for this reason, you will have to wait - not a problem really when you consider you take in your own drinks, with free corkage - plenty of time for lots of conversation, soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying a lovely relaxed evening, without staff snatching your plates away, while your are still eating. We chatted to the owner, who was clearly very passionate about trying out new recipes, whilst at the same time, offering all the old favourites - they wont be rushed, so just sit back and relax and enjoy your evening - if you want that mass produced pre- packed curry sauce dishes, then go elsewhere - if you want quality home cooked food then bring your own wine and beer and enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andreacrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tried after seeing reviews here & from local word of mouth....
Very impressed with service (warm and genuinely welcoming)
Lovely food and presentation (speciality - spicey stuffed chicken breast...mmm)
As it was our 1st visit, waiter was very helpful with menu and recommendations
Decor was new, bright and modern
Great price to boot! Under £30 for two of us...remember to bring your own tipple! Iced bucket provided too ;)
Our new go to for curry...very happy chappy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A poor experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a quiet Monday lunch time. When we arrived there was only one other table in the restaurant. It did take us a while to decide what we wanted to order and the girl serving was patient and friendly. We ordered the steak sandwich, one of the special wraps, a childs burger and chips and poached egg on toast for our other child.

we waited, and waited, and after about 40 mins we asked how long the food might be. we were told not long, so we waited.....then we asked if they could actually tell us how long the food would be. we were told 5 mins.

When the food came it was very disappointing. The first thing we noticed was that my daughters poached eggs had been drizzled with a really thick balsamic reduction allover the plate. There was no way she would eat any of the food like this (eggs, dry toast and balsamic? really?) when I asked if she could have it without the plate was promptly taken away....only to be returned on a clean plate, but with the same food turned over so it now not only looked disgusting but the balsamic was still there. I explained that she wouldn't eat it the balsamic and they said they would get her a new one.......fine....but MORE waiting!

The burger was burnt, my steak really tough with loads more sticky balsamic that had a really bitter unpleasant after taste and the wrap really wasnt any thing special.

Although the front of house staff seemed nice and friendly, the service was far too slow, the food not very nice and I would not go back.

very dissapointing

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank yabadaba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mivesi M, Owner at Mivesi, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, all review positive or negative is much appreciated as it lets us improve ourselves. I would like to comment on some of the issues you have raised. The particular day you had come in we were very busy at lunchtime, in fact we had about 20 people in at the same time. When you placed the order the poached egg was not specified that it was for a child so it was cooked as normal. When the plate was returned the chef put it on another plate as to reduce the balsamic as it would have taken too long to cook another dish and the rest of the meals would have gone cold. You also said the burger was burned but I realised the burger was completely eaten but as a gesture of goodwill we took the price of the burger off. The sauce you refer to on the minute steak is actually caramelised onion, and the steaks were bought in fresh that morning from the local butchers. The minute steak is one of our best seller. We would also like to point out that all our meals are freshly cooked to order only. We do apologise your visit was not satisfactory, but we as a business tried our best to rectify the problems. Thankyou for visiting Mivesi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mivesi also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Shilbottle, Alnwick
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Mivesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing