We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage”
Review of Ellingham Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellingham Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in the Apple Store. The cottage was very cosy on arrival due to the AGA which was a lovely bonus. Cottage very comfortable. Bathroom odd and inward door made it tricky to have more than one person in there which is challenging with young children but didn't cause a big issue. Fabulous treehouses for the kids to play in and peaceful location with easy access to main attractions. Peacock also a source if interest for the kids. Would recommend and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26KarenR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a beautiful cottage, only gave 1 less star as there was a lot of construction going on when we stayed which we weren't made aware of.
An excellent base to visit the nearby areas. Would recommend highly, very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Chapel cottage has the best views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Nic888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Where do I start? We arrived late on Friday following the A1 north and then just a short distance along a lovely country road we found our magical destination waiting for us. Even before we had opened the door to our cottage we could see the lights of other cottages lighting up our way.
The cottages are all designed, build and maintained to such a high standard with quality fixtures and fittings everywhere. The smile on our face said it all, we were all beaming and ready for our family break and family wedding.
The wedding we attend the following day was fantastic not just because of the bride and groom who had a fantastic day but because of the excellent surroundings, ambiance and of course the staff who made our stay so enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble.
If you want to book a wedding or just a great place to holiday when in Northumberland then look no further that Ellingham Hall.

Room Tip: Look on the website it is fantastic and stay in one of the excellent cottages. They are all fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradise24370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed in the 'apple store' for a family wedding ... the cottage on arrival 'looked' lovely ... HOWEVER for the money we paid I was extremely disappointed to find once sitting down to tea on our 1st night the 'state' of the dining table seat cushions 'filthy' covered in old food, stains and were very obviously dirty and needed a wash (guess what was the 1st thing that entered our washing machine in the morning)! Hand in hand with this was the 'couch' covered in stains BUT obviously we could not wash this.... along with the 'highchair' that we had requested 'disgusting' NEEDED scrubbed unless we wanted our baby sitting amongst goodness knows how many other babies meals' .... As we unpacked we were shocked at HOW many things (left belongings) that we came across socks, suit hankies, tie ... ALL things that SHOULD have been found whilst the cleaners were in 'cleaning' as they were pretty obvious IF the job had been completed properly ... we found ourselves 'bleaching' the kitchen bin due to the grime upon which we found .... one of the cooking trays was cracked to the point of HAVING to ask for a replacement as it was unusable .... we found one of the quilt covers on the single beds was ripped (I know this does not affect sleeping in the bed BUT this surely would have been obvious when being put on? And for the money we did not expect to find ripped bedding) .... the very annoying fitted door HAD TO BE the bathroom door which opened 'inwards' which made monuvering around the bathroom 'impossible' so therefore having to send our toddler in 1st THEN close the door so he could get to the bath THEN re-open and repeat the process to be able to supervise him in there .... as time went on we quickly realised that after a 'quick sweep' the laminate floor throughout LOOKED clean ... until HOWEVER seeing the colour of our baby's 'white sleepsuits' when he had finished playing on the floor (and each one needing a boil wash to gain the whiteness back) so this clearly indicates that this is ALL that is done during the 'cleaners cleaning time' ..... not wanting to be the 'nuisance cottage' of the wedding party we just 'got on with things' our overall opinion being that the 'apple store' needs a DEEP clean .....our finishing TIP would be DO NOT FORGET/LEAVE anything that you would require 'posting' back to you as it WILL COST YOU £10 to regain your' favourite pair of socks' as ELLINGHAM HALL'S 'set charge' is this for ANY left item! OR this is what we were told AND charged for the return of our toddlers booster seat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the Gun Room cottage for four nights and I wish it had been longer. The cottages are fantastic (the pictures dont do them justice) and the location is so peaceful, but has easy access to the main attractions in Northumberland. The staff and owners at the hall are so friendly and nothing is too much to ask.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Gun room cottage exceeded expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wappity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

stopped in the chapel cottage it was beautiful couldnt fault it at all. had a lovely week went all over visited both bamburgh & alnwick castles. Can definately recommend the pack horse pub in the village food was lovely they made us very welcome.Had the chance to look round the ellingham hall its lovely can see why people get married there.hope everyone has as a nice stay like we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had the most marvellous wedding celebration last weekend at Ellingham Hall. The venue is spacious full of character and provided a superb setting for our sons wedding.
The beds were very comfortable and the place very clean. It was so helpful to have the use of the kitchen, too.
The grounds provided a wonderful playground for the children and a place to walk for the adults.
Some of our relatives stayed in the Hall with us whilst others rented the cottages in the grounds.
Food and service were first class. This was a very happy wedding that really couldn't have been improved upon.
Added to this the Hall is within striking distance of some fantastic Northumbrian coastline.
Well done and many thanks to all of the staff at Ellingham.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham Hall

Property: Ellingham Hall
Address: Ellingham, Alnwick NE67 5EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Alnwick
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellingham Hall is tucked away in the rural area of Northumberland, it is the perfect venue for all events whether it be private and family events such as weddings, birthdays, christenings to corporate business events and training days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ellingham Hall Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing