We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely clean welcoming and warm. Food very good, bar area very welcoming staff friendly. Currently have a deal with dinner bed and breakfast for 44.50 each . All meals from usual menu and not a 'reduced menu for those on the deal'

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are big and have bath with shower over. I believe upstairs have shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
And thank you for a lovely review! And five stars too. We hope you'll return again in the future. If you prefer a bath or shower be sure to tell us on booking and we'll find the right room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    154
    55
    20
    8
See reviews for
143
210
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I visited the Hogs Head back in February 2013 and was a little disappointed with the meals me and my partner received (Reviewed back in Feb 13). For Christmas 2013 a college was assigned to sort out the Christmas party, and chose the Hogs Head... I was a little apprehensive as my last visit the food wasn't up to scratch but it was booked and the wait was on!
The place itself is stunning and we were 'down' for the Christmas Menu. There were 3 options to choose from, from each section through starters to pudding. At a price of just under £16 per head.
The food that night was absolutely Fantastic, such a difference from my previous visit! All 10 of us didn't have one complaint over anything, from the food to the service we received. A well deserved 'hat's off' for all the staff that night and most defiantly the chef / chefs for such a wonderful meal. The standards that night was first class and hopefully still remain? Well done Hogs Head!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We were absolutely delighted to read you review and to get the official hats off from you! Thank you very much indeed for returning to give us another try. We're going all out for the five stars next time, though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel address didn't come up on my sat nav, but it's about a mile out of Alnwick centre, near to Sainsburys.

Room was large with a super-king size bed, comfortable pillows, free Wi-Fi, (Premier Inn please note), huge car park and massive restaurant.

Sadly, no bath, and the shower room was tiny, but it's terrific value on the winter deal of bed, breakfast and evening meal.

Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for the review and five stars - please ask on booking if you would prefer a bath as opposed to a shower. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us ate here, food was overall of a very high quality and presentation; however I was unimpressed by my Haggis-Black Pudding-Chicken breast main course, the Chicken was nearly cold, tough and overcooked. I was also served a very rank bottom of the barrel pint of bitter, which was changed.
Others in our family ate steak pie, veggie Cannelloni and a burger which were much better. Desserts, sticky toffee pudding and fruit crumble we exceptional.
Ambiance was very good and the staff pleasant, clearly a lot had been invested in the business.
For an order at the bar/numbered table type service, pricing was very high typically £10-£14 for a main course.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IEAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Ah - what a shame. Our ethos is to offer good, value for money proper pub food, with a specials board where our talented chef has a culinary flair with local ingredients. Sorry to hear about the pint - we love our ales are very proud holders of Carlsberg Gold Award for our cellar management. Hopefully you will return to give us another try?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ate at The Hog's Head Inn whilst staying in Alnwick couple months ago. Comfy surroundings but on the whole just your run-of-the-mill pub / restaurant. Food nothing special, none seemed homemade and chips frozen. Also very overpriced for what you got. Ate at 'The Art House' in Alnwick the previous evening which served nicer, homemade food and was actually cheaper. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Our food is home cooked and while we strive to offer good quality, great value for money. Our other reviews are a testament to this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on the 23rd December in the afternoon staying for four nights, the room was very comfortable, we stayed on dinner bed and breakfast rate on Christmas Day we paid for Christmas dinner £27 each which was worth every penny in the evening a buffet was laid on for people staying at the inn.We spent everyday visiting Boulmer beach with our dog who enjoyed swimming in the sea everyday rest of the time we visited the local area which we enjoyed very much. The staff were very good nothing was to much trouble which is a credit to the manager Gary and his deputy Peter. We have already booked for the same again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
A Christmas cracker of a review - thank you very much indeed. We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Thank you for the five stars too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

What a lovely setting. My partner, sister and I had an evening meal at The Hog's Head recently and found that the food on the whole was good and tasty, although the portion sizes were quite large. A great meal, enjoying three courses BUT, although the meat in the Steak and Ale pie was excellent, the pastry was certainly not "short" crust and was too thin and brittle. Need someone with a excellent skills in pastry making???

It was a shame someone measured the windows incorrectly! This is the only explanation I can find for having all their curtain poles half way down the length of the windows otherwise the décor and ambiance is good, the staff polite and very helpful and the seating, especially the tables with bench seats, comfortable with good rigid backs, although a little more leg room would be appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickedwitch4151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review and for your comments. We promise we do use shortcrust pastry for our steak and ale pie - it is beautiful and short and certainly not stodgy! Our interiors were carefully designed for style and effect by an interior designer - including the curtain poles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,040 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
372 reviews
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
12.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing