We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value, wonderful staff”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an excellent little hotel, modern, welcoming with spacious well appointed rooms. I enjoyed a winter dinner, bed and breakfast rate of under £50 fit the night which was amazing value.

Staff were really friendly and the food was great, look forward to staying again sometime soon :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Largescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you! We do our best to please - and we certainly do offer amazing value! Come back soon! Thank you for the five stars too! Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

.Modern stylish inn close to the A1 a short walk from Alnwick centre large rooms with very good facilities.We stayed on a winter special deal which was excellent value for money. Dinner on Saturday was very good.Some traffic noise but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for the review and the five stars! Much appreciated. We hope you return again soon! Re the traffic noise - it is very minimal, isn;t it? People are always very surprised You would not know you are near a road. I stayed in a hotel in Edinburgh city centre recently and the noise from outside revellers was unbelievable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The three meals we had today were really poor. Steak pie had to be sent back. The pastry was so hard and the meat was hard around the edges as though it had been part of a roast joint that had been cut up. The roast pork was a fatty chop with overly spiced black pudding with pepper sauce and grey veg.

I have to say that the staff were very good. Bar staff and waitress. The restaurant itself is very pleasant, but on the basis of food it will be a while before we are back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I would have given it 5 stars out of 5, if it was not let down a bit by the kitchen. We stayed there on our visit to Alnwick and it is hard to fault with its atmosphere and spacious and clean, trendy rooms. I will definitely come back on our way to Scotland in December. My only recommendation is for a richer breakfast from fruit and healthier options' perspective.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValiaIon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you next time. We'll feed back about the healthy options for breakfast - which is complimentary - to our management team. We aim to please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a friday night. Really peaceful, had a light sandwich lunch which was very filling and delicious. Showet started the rooms smoke alarm off after opening window to let steam out I was accused of having a sly smoke (non smoker). Wife found bed very uncomfortable whereas I thought it was ok apart from a big "gap" down the middle. Upsetting to find a bra on one of the shelves and quite a bit rubbish underneath the bed. Breakfast was "ok" reminded me of army breakfasts if im honest. On a whole value for money was very poor for the price paid.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Twangmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We've taken a while responding to make sure we checked with all staff about your review...

Showers would not set off smoke alarms - they would go off numerous times in a day if they did. Our manager did go up to your room and he remembers a nice smell of deodorant which could have set off the alarm. We would not have accused anyone of being a sly smoker. Yes, our double beds are joined in the middle however this is one of the first complaints we have ever heard of it having a major detrimental impact on a guest’s stay.

Our housekeeping team strenuously deny the possibility of a bra being on the shelves. Our housekeeping team are incredibly thorough and diligent. Rooms are cleaned on departure and then the day of arrival as an extra double check just in case anything has been missed. The wardrobes do not have door on the front so it would have been noticed. Furthermore after this reviewers stay no bra was left in the room.

We always get great comments on our complimentary breakfast, which is a full English - similar establishments simply offer continental. The meat on breakfast is all good quality butcher’s meat and again we never get a complaint about breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although this hotel is on the edge of a business estate it is a nice looking place and convenient for travellers with plenty of parking. It is only 1.4 miles from the centre of Alnwick and we easily walked there and back. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with spacious modern rooms and despite the dining area being large, it still had a cosy feel. There were non residents eating there as well, probably because the food was delicious. We found the young staff friendly and efficient and really enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiderata22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review and the five stars (sorry I got the four stars mixed up from the previous review!) We really do value your time in doing this and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is hard to fault, from its spacious rooms to its brilliant food. We loved it. There were lovely fluffy towels, great shower, and massive beds.
The quality of the food in the restaurant was definitely not the usual pub type grub, but real restaurant quality freshly cooked to order. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

A cracking review that has put a smile on our faces - thank you very much indeed. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks for the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,094 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,300 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
409 reviews
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
358 reviews
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: $133 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing