We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I would have given it 5 stars out of 5, if it was not let down a bit by the kitchen. We stayed there on our visit to Alnwick and it is hard to fault with its atmosphere and spacious and clean, trendy rooms. I will definitely come back on our way to Scotland in December. My only recommendation is for a richer breakfast from fruit and healthier options' perspective.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValiaIon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you next time. We'll feed back about the healthy options for breakfast - which is complimentary - to our management team. We aim to please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 540 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a friday night. Really peaceful, had a light sandwich lunch which was very filling and delicious. Showet started the rooms smoke alarm off after opening window to let steam out I was accused of having a sly smoke (non smoker). Wife found bed very uncomfortable whereas I thought it was ok apart from a big "gap" down the middle. Upsetting to find a bra on one of the shelves and quite a bit rubbish underneath the bed. Breakfast was "ok" reminded me of army breakfasts if im honest. On a whole value for money was very poor for the price paid.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Twangmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We've taken a while responding to make sure we checked with all staff about your review...

Showers would not set off smoke alarms - they would go off numerous times in a day if they did. Our manager did go up to your room and he remembers a nice smell of deodorant which could have set off the alarm. We would not have accused anyone of being a sly smoker. Yes, our double beds are joined in the middle however this is one of the first complaints we have ever heard of it having a major detrimental impact on a guest’s stay.

Our housekeeping team strenuously deny the possibility of a bra being on the shelves. Our housekeeping team are incredibly thorough and diligent. Rooms are cleaned on departure and then the day of arrival as an extra double check just in case anything has been missed. The wardrobes do not have door on the front so it would have been noticed. Furthermore after this reviewers stay no bra was left in the room.

We always get great comments on our complimentary breakfast, which is a full English - similar establishments simply offer continental. The meat on breakfast is all good quality butcher’s meat and again we never get a complaint about breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although this hotel is on the edge of a business estate it is a nice looking place and convenient for travellers with plenty of parking. It is only 1.4 miles from the centre of Alnwick and we easily walked there and back. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with spacious modern rooms and despite the dining area being large, it still had a cosy feel. There were non residents eating there as well, probably because the food was delicious. We found the young staff friendly and efficient and really enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiderata22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review and the five stars (sorry I got the four stars mixed up from the previous review!) We really do value your time in doing this and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is hard to fault, from its spacious rooms to its brilliant food. We loved it. There were lovely fluffy towels, great shower, and massive beds.
The quality of the food in the restaurant was definitely not the usual pub type grub, but real restaurant quality freshly cooked to order. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

A cracking review that has put a smile on our faces - thank you very much indeed. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks for the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked here for one night. This hotel is a new build under two years old. Therefore as you would expect the rooms are very modern & large with all the facilities needed. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly if not slightly under worked as when we stayed there were no more than half a dozen rooms being used. The food was very good and plentiful.
The only down side is that the Hotel is on an industrial estate next door to a large garage which is currently closed. However this did not produce any noise at all even with the A1 being so close.
A good base for touring Northumberland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the review and positive comments. We do have a commercial estate to one side of us as well as a small caravan park and farm to the other. And said garage, which is not part of our Inn. People are always impressed by the size and quality of our accommodation offer. We hope you'll come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

another one night stay, aren't they all!!, early check in, late check out all no problem, staff were on the ball, absolutely first class. Rooms are big and modern, beds the same, TV's the same, just faultless imo, breakfast was also excellent even though I made it just in the nick of time, this hotel comes highly recommmended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Many thanks indeed for your review which we think sums up what we offer brilliantly! ;D Appreciate the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our Annual car club weekend away found us at the Hog's Head Inn & what a weekend we had. Made even better by the service & attention to detail by the Manager Sean and his team.
The rooms were a good size & very clean, all guests were happy. The meals were excellent and a big thankyou to Chris for his brilliant service in the restaurant (also his taxi duties!!)
All in all a great weekend & look forward to returning soon.
Thank you
Val & Andrew SYNN

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We'll be borrowing your WOTY phrase! Love it! And love your review - thank you. We're very popular with car rallies such as MOG Owners. Handy as being close to A1 and to some of the best driving scenery in the country. Come back soon for a return trip! We appreciate the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: $130 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing