We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, Location, Good all round”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went as a group of 25 to this hotel, as we are a car club, on our annual weekend away together.
It is a fantastic location just outside Alnwick center, but also at the side of the A1, so very easy to get to.
The rooms are new (or look new) & very comfortable & spacious.
Very clean too.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on 2 evenings & found the food superb!
On one evening we ate elsewhere but the manager insisted on putting on 2 mini-buses to take us & bring us back FREE!
That's service!!
The staff & particularly the manager are very attentive & friendly.
I can't recommend this hotel enough.
We will DEFINITELY be returning.

Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room. The staff will be very happy to help.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnsleyDave1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Loved your review - our aim is to make our guests happy! Thank you for the five stars too. Look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for The Hog's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited last weekend and requested a disabled room the room was huge with plenty of room for my husbands scooter , service and food excellent the staff were a credit to the manager ,house red highly Recommended and the rib eye steak was superb .
Will visit again ,a great hotel in a great place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Delighted to read your review and to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks for the five stars as well! Hurray!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent night at this hotel. Spotlessly clean,modern premises. The room was spacious with comfortable, kingsize plus bed. Bathroom beautifully clean with reasonably powerful shower. Restaurant was spacious, well furnished and again spotless. Menu was well thought out, food was good value and well presented and service was attentitive.Complementary breakfast was also excellent quality. All of these things were great but what was really remarkable was the charm, friendliness and professionalism of the young staff. They made the stay special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

What a lovely review. It is so good to get feedback like this. We will feed it back to our team who are brilliant! We really hope to welcome you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply - and for the five stars as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have stayed in the hogs head for some time now and I have taken advantage of the winter rate deal and I was so impressed with what I found.
Rooms: spacious and always clean.
Decent internet
Good strong shower
Meals: Great menu
Always to a high standard
Big buffet breakfast if wanted
Staff: Good customer relations
Nothing was a problem

Room Tip: All rooms to the same high spec, if anything I liked the smaller rooms, as there was still plenty of...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disc01888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Well we're glad you did! And what a useful and comprehensive review it was too. Thanks for that - and for the five stars as well. Hope to see you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Hogs Head Inn with a group of Golfers. Plenty of Free parking excellent polite and attentive staff; Rooms generous size with all the necessary facilities. Restaurant was good, buffet breakfast very good and evening meals good standard albeit a little pricey. Location of the hotel in close proximity of A1 however very little traffic noise noticed and very handy for getting around. Highly recommend this to groups of golfers as it is an excellent bae and the hotel is set up for golfing parties even supplying free transport into Alnwick during the evenings.Hotel is overall very clean fresh and modern and definitely is a place which is an excellent base for visiting Alnwick and the stunning Northunbrian Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2702bobjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave a good and fair review. We have lots of great golf courses on the doorstep as you've discovered and were delighted to be featured by Golf Monthly recently. We hope you return to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We wanted a week in Northumberland before the weather changed. We stayed at The Hog's Head because it was one of the few hotels that had a room - just one.

It's a lovely place to stay. The room was one of the best we have had. Plenty of room. Good service and tea making facilities.

We were welcomed upon arrive and showed to our room. Breakfast was very good if you want a cooked breakfast. There was nothing available for those that did not want a cooked breakfast but I don’t know what was available upon request. We had dinner at the hotel on 3 evenings. The menu was quite good but did not change so choice was becoming a bit of a problem towards the end of out stay.

The hotel is just off the main road, It’s on an industrial park but still quiet. The big benefit of this is that there is a massive car park - sadly lacking with so many hotels these days.

It’s just over a mile if you want to walk into Alynwick - we did it twice. Being close to the main highway it is so easy to get to all the main attractions on the coast.

Staff were excellent and very friendly.

We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank anythingwilldo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

A cracking review - thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a helpful review to others. Much appreciated by The Hog's Head Team - we're delighted you enjoyed your time at our inn and indeed in Northumberland. On site car parking is very handy - nothing worse than having to traipse with bags and feed parking meters.. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and found the rooms excellent. The decor was very modern and fresh, great beds and very clean. The bar is large and spacious with a good range of beers. The choice of meals was large and the food we tried was delicious. We found the staff super friendly and helpful.

I've read previous posts that infer that this place is like a certain pub chain, what utter nonsense!!

The only suggestion for improvement would be nets on the room windows as our room overlooked a busy beer garden and didnt offer much privacy.

Other than that it was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Really appreciate your comments and support. We certainly aren't a chain but a privately owned and operated inn with rooms. Net curtains are on their way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,060 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: $127 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing