We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, friendly staff, but food a 'little bland' ..”
Review of Hogs Head Inn

Hogs Head Inn
Ranked #47 of 120 Restaurants in Alnwick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The place wasn't long open - and is nicely finished - good service, but although food was cooked well -vegetables crisp - just felt my chicken breast was 'missing' something.. I would normally say.. but everyone was so kind and I'd had a hard day - so might have been a little fussy ?

Recommended the hotel to friends who seemed pleased.

Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We think you should come back and have another try! We've just had a rave review by a myster reviewer from a regional daily newspaper praising our food, especially the local game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hogs Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 477 of 508 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visited for the 1st time shortly after opening, thought the decor was really smart, nice large car park for easy parking, not squeezing into tight bays, plenty room around tables, not cramped in like some places, potato wedges were superb and main course also nice, looking forward to returning for our staff party, WELL DONE

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thanks for the great review and for the five stars! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice looking menu but a bit like a land time forgot the night we went, quiet and close to a library atmosphere !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew_M_Charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thanks for the review - you visited in November which is traditionally one of the quietest times of year. It's a subjective thing as some people like peace and quiet while others like lots of people around. If you do, come along on a Sunday during our massively popular carvery. The place is rocking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

2nd visit for me & first visit for partner as an early birthday treat. It was great to see his face light up as we walked in to the beautiful surroundings & modern decor with a homely, relaxed atmosphere.

We arrived around 1:30, hoping the Carvery was still on, found it still serves til 5 : ) so no rush. The whole place was buzzing with people yet the way it's spaciously set out meant we could sit down together & have our own bit of space ^_^

Carvery tokens purchased, plus J20 for myself & a Lovely Nelly *Part of the money goes to the R.N.L.I* for Partner. We went up to the impressive Carvery. It looked Beautiful with a friendly, efficient, lovely chap cutting a choice of 3 meats. Turkey, Beef or Pork, you could have all three if you wanted! Yorkshires were HUGE! Good selection of roasties, boiled potatoes, mashed suede, red cabbage, carrots & peas, brocolli and stuffing! There was even a tray of Crackling & as it was running low it was replaced immediately, showing a keen attention to detail. There was also gravy, red currant jelly & apple sauce.

All this making a perfect Sunday Lunch! We were delighted with what was on our plates, everything cooked beautifully, I loved the Stuffing & the Turkey which was cut from a fresh new bird : ) was very juicy and the Beef my partner had was lovely.

We had a lovely time and really enjoyed our visit to the Hog's Head. It's a wonderful addition to Alnwick & hope it goes from strength to strengh as any new investment can only be a good thing. Recommend & will be back! : )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antonia_HoskinsBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Wow - what a fab review - thank you. Have to say we agree! We work hard to make sure everyone's favourite - the Sunday Carvery is above and beyond expectations. We just hope you come back again soon! Thanks for the 5 stars as well :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not sure about other reviews on here and yes you are entitled to your opinion. However I have been a few times now and found the whole atmosphere, food and service to be excellent. Intend to visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prizehebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We agree - everyone is entitled to their opinion - thank you for taking the time to give yours too. We're so pleased you enjoy dining with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogs Head Inn also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Hogs Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing