We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week treat”
Review of The Black Swan Pub

The Black Swan Pub
Ranked #34 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An ancient and historic pub, where Robbie Burns once slept, offering a warm Northumbrian welcome and great local food - try our fabulously fresh fish and chips, or delicious beef sourced from a farm just down the road.Service with a smile and a relaxed and comfortable meal waits for you - there's been an inn on this site for around 600 years so why not call in and take a break - we serve food from 12 noon until 9 pm seven days a week.
Alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mid week treat”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

As a local person with a young child I like to try different places in the town. The Blak Swan is a clean well looked after place, not what you think of when you think of "pub". Everything was table service and very efficient. My son had fresh fish bites (cod I think) in a crispy light batter. I had a chicken mayo sandwich in a soft bread roll with fresh salad and coleslaw, which was tasty.

Very friendly and welcoming of children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlambert91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello rlambert91 and thank you for your review.
I'm glad you were made to feel welcome with your son - I'm a father myself and I know how important it is to provide a welcoming place for lunch - my son loves the fish bites too.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    97
    27
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited Last Weekend To Sample The Brilliant Steak Pie I Had On Last Visit A Year Ago. Apparently They Have A New Chef. May I Suggest The Management Find A Replacement Asap. My Meal Had To Be Returned Initially Because The Order Was Wrong. By The Time It Was Returned My Wife Had Finished Her Meal . My Meal Was Then Sent Back BeCause It Was Inedible After It Had Obviously Been Rewarmed In A Microwave Which Meant The Flaky Pastry Crust Was Now A Soggy Mush. The Pie Had Been Burnt And By Now The Waitress Who Had Been Apologizing For Various Issues Since We Arrived Told Us Just To Forget The Bill. Full Marks To The Waitress But Nil Points For The Food And The Chef.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello brian b and thank you for your review. I'm sorry you received the wrong meal and the steak pie wasn't up to it's usual high standard.
We take our food production very seriously, and look to improve any issues as soon as we know about them, so I am glad that the waitress dealt with this and didn't charge you for your meal.
Next time you call in please ask for me or Amar personally and we will make sure everything is perfect.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service but lack of availability”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here last Friday and found it to be a lovely place with good friendly service from all the staff which was only let down by a distinct lack of availability. Menu wasn't that extensive and to find that much unavailable was disappointing. The food that we did have, steak and two burgers plus starters and one dessert, was of good quality and served in a timely fashion.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello thebroomies and thank you for your review. I'm sorry we had sold out of some items on the menu, it was a particularly busy day and we hadn't had chance to catch up. I'm glad you did enjoy your meal, the meat is all sourced from a local farm and is ooften complimented.
Hope to see you again soon to try a different dish.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cracking pub”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was in Alnwick a couple of weeks ago and popped in for a drink. It was very quiet but it was a late Tuesday afternoon. Barman was friendly, chatty and helped me choose a local ale. Went back next night for a meal. Different barman but equally nice and professional. Buzzier atmosphere with more folk in both eating and drinking. Had the steak pie with chips and veg. It's not often for a pub meal EVERYTHING is perfectly cooked but it was in this case and I would definitely recommend it. Other people's meals looked and smelled pretty good too! Central location, nice decor, lovely food, excellent staff - go in and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lingy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello LINGY07 and thank you for your review. It seems you have seen our pub in two different lights, the quieter afternoon and the busier evening - we like to think there is something for everyone.
Also glad you enjoyed your meal - see you again soon.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good food served by pleasant staff, reasonably priced. Pleasant surroundings and music not too loud.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiger787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Tiger787 and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and we make sure that the music is not too loud so customers can talk easily.
Hope to see you back here again.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan Pub also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Black Swan Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing