We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a spooky night on the cards”
Review of Chillingham Castle

Chillingham Castle
Ranked #7 of 42 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a spooky night on the cards”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we went here for an overnight stay and as promised the whole night was full of events that certainly went bump in the night...the castle is a wonder and full of history and lots of medieval things, the history in the castle is immense and the gardens make for a lovely stroll. A well worth experience had by all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank newcastlebabes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    153
    62
    35
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Odd but interesting”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had been meaning to visit Chillingham for some time but it is rather expensive. Northumberland residents get a once a year opportunity to visit tourist attractions for half price each year so we took the opportunity in March.
It is a small castle but perfectly formed! It was a rather muddy walk from the car park to the castle but the weather has been terrible and we were wearing suitable shoes.
The parts of the castle that we saw looked as if someone had just left suddenly several hundred years ago as there was a pile of swords just lying in a corner ready to be picked up and used.
Everywhere there were odd assortments of old things - all in the same room but I guess that is some of its charm if you like randomness. There is armour, models of horses with armour and a mix of ancient weaponry.
The 'museum' has a really diverse collection of stuff . All rather random and not too much in the way of explanation. A range of bathchairs and a few meters away an assortment of guns and models of horses.
The torture chamber is an acquired taste - do not take young children down there as some of it is really very unpleasant for children and those with a nervous disposition - older children will probably love it if they are so inclined however.
The tea room had a small but good range of snacks and very friendly service.
Altogether a very pleasant couple of hours

The grounds are very pretty and the walled garden will be beautiful once the flowers come out. We walked (or slid) down the path to the river which was enchanting as there were blankets of snowdrops all around the river

We then wanted to go to see the famous Chillingham cattle but were told when we asked how to get to them that they would not be put until after Easter - just as well we asked otherwise we would have had along walk/drive needlessley

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Ruby Wedding"”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

In October we stayed the weekend at Chillingham Castle with family and friends to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in the Grey Room which we shared with our son and his family. This was very spacious, it had 2 large size bedrooms and the beds were clean and very comfortable. We were provided with towels which were white and very soft. It was lovely sitting around the log fire in the living area on an evening. The other families stayed in the Dairy Appartment and Landseer Appartment and these were excellent too.
We decided to renew our vows and had a blessing in the Chapel, to keep in with the theme of Chillingham we were all dressed in Medieval clothing including our 50 guests who were staying in the castle. Photos were taken inside the castle and in the grounds. On the evening we had booked the Great Hall and the Minstrel Hall and a further 100 guests arrived also dressed for the occassion. All the guests enjoyed themselves whether they were sitting round the roaring fire in the Minstrel Hall or dancing in the Great Hall. We had a roasted hog on a spit instead of the usual buffet.Julie who had helped organise the blessing and party was available all day and night to make sure that everything ran smoothly which it did. We would like to say a big thank you to Joyce the Estate Manger, Julie, and the Caretaker and his wife who without there care and assistance would not of made this weekend as perfert as it was.
As for the ghosts they were very quiet but we did have a few scary moments when a wardrobe door opened on its own and a cushion fell off a chair in the sitting room of the Grey Room. Our party must of scared them !!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We holiday in Northumberland every year and have been meaning to get to Chillingham for some time, this year it was top of the list, but unfortunately we were disappointed. We paid the usual sort of entrance fee, then when I asked about a quiz for my daughter (she loves to do these when going round castles and stately homes), we had to pay extra for that, which seemed a little stiff and there wasn't a prize for completing it - come on would it hurt to give kids a sticker?! The castle was interesting enough and the guides well imformed about the history and various ghosts. One room was crammed full of a variety of 'stuff', (some broken items) and described as a 'museum'. The food in the tea shop was lovely and the garden, small but pretty.
Would we go again? Probably not, at least not for another few years.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RAL0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this castle to be quite depressing overall, and seems cluttered with random stuff that don't really seem to have any significance. Even in the 'museum' part it just seemed like a collection of random artefacts with very little explanation as to why they are there or where they came from. It was a bit shoddy in that in a few parts I saw wires sticking out of the walls and at one point there was a floor polisher tucked away in a cranny, not in a cupboard or anything. This kind of ruined the idea of an ancient castle. Also antlers and animal skulls seemed to be everywhere. Maybe it's me but I find that a bit grim.

Very different to other castles I have visited. Sadly I didn't enjoy this one, and I feel it is very expensive for what it is. Perhaps true history buffs would enjoy it more, but I prefer a slightly more organized attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lion79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillingham Castle also viewed

 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Chillingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing