We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow a garden and a half”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alnwick Garden

The Alnwick Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.86*
and up
Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wow a garden and a half”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

we visited in November and some of the garden was closed ie. poison garden but there are always things needing doing with nature. The guide we had was perfect and told us lots of stories re. the development. suppose to be 45mins but he gave us an hour. It is very user friendly and the water features change all the time, especially the guggle bath hole! I would like to go back in the spring but enjoyed having no crowds. Tree house to ourselves and magical with log fire. RHS members have courtesy admission at the moment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quickone47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,689
    805
    352
    174
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I pre- booked my day ticket online to save some money and time at the ticket office. Opening times online said 1000hrs but upon arrival the main car park was closed. Drove further up to the disabled car park and that was empty too. Upon reaching the ticket office at 1030hrs we were informed the gardens didn't open till 1100hrs (and toilets locked) epic fail number 1.

Decided to visit Alnwick town centre to kill some time and come back later. Unfortunately on my return it seems the ticket office personnel hadn't had training for online bookings and couldn't process my tickets. epic fail number 2.

Eventually got my ticket and map of the garden. Then to be told the Poison Garden was closed (epic fail number 3) although their saving grace was the extremely nice coffee served in their cafe.

All in all - I've been and done it. I wouldn't recommend visiting the gardens in winter. Nothing to see plants and shrubs wise. And I wish they had a decent view of the castle to make it more worthwhile rather than hidden behind trees.

An expensive couple of hours but I can imagine its amazing in the summer with everything in full bloom

Helpful?
Thank Mistymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seahouses, Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is one place that is well worth a visit. Plenty to do, plenty to see. The water features keep the kids amused for ages, as does the maze. Lovely food in both the Tree House Restaurant and the restaurant in the Garden itself. Will definitely visit again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“alnwick garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Make sure you take drinks and a picnic with you!. The café is outrageously expensive and there is usually a long queue. Once you are in though, it's great for all the family, summer is the best time as the flowers and walled garden are beautiful. A tip if you have small children - take a change of clothes and towels as they will get absolutely soaked !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank soniacolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“and half a day at Alnwick Gardens”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Perhaps we visited at the wrong time of year but the gardens were not quite what we had expected from the Alnwick Gardens website - yes they were large and we had a good walk - but not much in the way of blooms. The pedal tractors were a nice feature - assuming of course one has young children. It was also expensive - £25 per couple for access to the castle and gardens would be more reasonable, not £25 each.

Food in cafe was good & reasonably priced but there were insufficient staff / lack of competent managers for it to work smoothly even with a few customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing