We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey”
Review of The Alnwick Garden

The Alnwick Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.22*
and up
Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited Alnwick Gardens today as a family of 4. It cost £13.75 per adult + £3.50 parking, kids were free as under 4, so around £30.
My opinion is it's a big field with a large fountain in the middle and a garden at the top. That's pretty much it for £13.75 entry. I just don't know how they can justify the price. I guess it depends on the time of year, but there were no flowering plants in the garden at the top either.
We visited for Halloween as we had heard there was some things on there, but this just seemed to be a couple of people dressed up as ghosts for 15 mins or so.
On the plus side the poison garden tour (15mins) was interesting, but it was just not enough to justify the expense.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blacksparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,805
    828
    358
    178
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too expensive? Fair comments! !”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We love the Alnwick Garden and so does our daughter!!! Comments made about kids not being welcome aren't fair...I feel the opposite is true, with free rein to dance in the beautiful fountains and a fantastic choice of ice creams, treats and toys evident...We visited at the end of October and the atmosphere was fantastic. The treehouse was magically lit up as the dark evening arrived....beautiful!
However, the coffee shops are expensive, as is the entrance fee, and I feel that £3.50 to park in addition to entrance fee is an insult! Furthermore the toilets were not clean...surprising and again slightly insulting.
Alnwick Garden you need to get back to treating visitors as guests!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tatayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Castle fantastic but the gardens amazing”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Concentrated on the gardens on this visit and the good weather meant we could really enjoy them. Although not at their full summer best lots to see and the friendly gardeners answered our questions with knowledge and obvious enthusiasm. Poison garden fascinating and the cafe although a little expensive top quality food. Will be back in the spring to see the garden in a different season

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KB1445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised at how informal and relaxing the gardens are, We took our two elder grandsons and they loved it. We will try to take them to one of the special events for children next time but the whole place is always child friendly. There is also good food available!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very expensive for a family of 4”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We purchased a joint ticket with the Castle, but after paying £35.50 to park a further £68 for the two was quite a shock! we were expecting great things for this price. The gardens are lovely and the tour around the Poison Garden was very interesting - staff here are lovely and very informative. Shame we visited in October as lots of the plants were finished for the season but could imagine it would be very beautiful in the summer months.
I wouldn't be in a rush to go again for the price but if you can get a ticket from Groupon or similar then worth a visit.
The Halloween ghosts were a hoot but the pumpkin carving and cupcake decoration were again extremely expensive. You can easily get through £100 for a family of 4.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWebsters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing