We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (4,046)
Filter reviews
3,963 results
Traveler rating
2,224
1,008
412
208
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,224
1,008
412
208
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water features poison garden rose garden tree house cherry orchard bamboo maze grand cascade fairy tale change of clothes treehouse restaurant poisonous plants full bloom different areas mobility scooter stunning gardens all ages formal gardens
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,963 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited the Gardens as family members on the day of Hallowe’en and were very disappointed and not the least scared ! There was very little to see or do and the children were bored stiff instead of scared stiff !! The entertainment consisted of a few sculls and city of white cloth hanging in some trees and only one person was dressed up on stilts !
No scary story telling or craft activities ! So disappointed and we all felt ripped off basically!

Thank jenniferjS5932HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited specially to see the ‘There, but not there’ Tommy silhouettes, which were striking. Still a lot to see although it almost is winter - the gorgeous autumn-coloured leaves, late flowering roses, the bamboo maze, walled garden, and the fabulous water cascade along with other fountains and water features. We would highly recommend the guided tour of the Poison Garden, which was fascinating. Our guide Paddy was entertaining and extremely informative. There also are lots of very comfortable wooden seats throughout the site so you can wander and then sit a bit to take in the views.

Thank Mhdarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dreadful customer service staff don’t seem to know what’s going on. This was booked by my friend for a special surprise for one of our friends for Sunday lunch on the 4th Nov. We travelled from near darlington to be told the day before there was no such booking even though we had two e mails confirming a gluten free Sunday lunch ,what a shambles!!!
10 very disappointed friends who ended up in the black swan instead and had a fab lunch for half the price and excellent service! So winner winner chicken dinner!!!
Carolyn Turnbull

1  Thank Carolynandgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok - I am a member of the National Trust - I like nice gardens - I don’t mind paying to walk around a garden but really £8.50 each for this ........ so disappointing ..... I’m gutted I not only wasted my money but my time as well - yes I understand it costs £42million in 2003 to create but when the costs excludes normal people it’s sad -
It’s all nice but too expensive - that’s why there is nobody here folks ———-

1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely day strolling around Alnwick Gardens. Excellent designs and set up for children, beautiful gardens, informative tours. Well done to those who manage and run this place. Highly recommend!

Thank Bellablue516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been a couple of times before and they are certainly planted for summer displays rather than Autumn. Entry fee a bit expensive given lack of flowers on display. Other areas still good, the water sculptures and bamboo maze, and of course the fountains. The highlight for our 3 year old was the lady who did bubble blowing but even our older ones were kept entertained with the other things to see. We will definitely come back but probably in summer months.

1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have often commented that the Alnwick 'Garden' would be better named if the title suggested that it was as much about commercialising events such as Halloween and Christmas. I'm sure that for children and families the transformation of the garden into a Halloween adventure is to be welcomed, but this significantly detracts from the garden as a horticultural and natural landscape with impressive features of design. On our recent visit in late October we enjoyed the colours of the autumn leaves in the Japanese blossom area (as my photo shows) but not the overcrowded restaurant area where a lot of tables were occupied by families who had brought their own food, or the shop that seemed dominated by over-priced souvenirs relating to skeletons and ghosts. I have given the Alnwick Garden excellent reviews in the past but am concerned that the increasing trend for commercialising the place is detracting from the beauties of its plants, trees and indeed the garden itself.

Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this night after it been published on Facebook by friends, we thought we give it ago. £6 entry fee pp, which is great, this is a fun night to be had last 1/2hour to an hour, you walk round at your own pace, they staff are great. People do jump out on you ( they don’t harm you or touch you in any way ) but they are really good. In there acting roles. Some of the acts looked like statues but they were real people giving you a shock, the atmosphere in the gardens was a great screams, smoke coming from everywhere. It looked spooky, the decorations around the gardens are great. It’s not recommended for under 12’s and I would say that’s right. As you do get shocks.

1  Thank markb687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve wanted to visit the gardens for many years. We visited today & we were so disappointed. There’s no way that the full summer entry price is justifiable at this time of year. I’m sure at the height of summer the gardens are spectacular but at the end of October, there are no plants to see. Half term ends on the 4th November this year and the winter admission fee starts on the 5th, that’s no coincidence!
We would have loved to have had afternoon tea in the treehouse but that was only open for a full meal service, even though it was 2.30 in the afternoon, the only alternative was the Potting Shed which was so tiny and cramped we didn’t bother to stay.
Our entrance fee for our 90 minute stay just for the gardens not including the castle was approximately 25% of our National Trust annual membership and has left a rather bitter taste.
The Poison Garden was interesting & informative albeit rather brief.

1  Thank Rosedalebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff in all the areas we touched were friendly, the toilets were clean, couldn't comment on the food and drink as we did not have any. Fairly busy as it was the last day of castle opening as well. Despite being the end of the season the gardens are well tended and the place felt well cared for. the poison garden was not as fascinating as we expected but we were delighted by the fountain garden - not sure of its proper name but the rills, and other water features were great. Loved the idea of all the swings in the cherry orchard although its a shame that visitors had worn unofficial paths to cut off the corners. Didn't get to the Tree House, disliked the vast pink giant thing wallowing in a pool near the entrance. The Cascade is magnificent, some indication of how long to wait / what to expect would have been good and maybe we missed something - who knows. The planting is clever, extensive and well labelled.
So, is this a garden or a bit of disney/ childrens attraction, not sure which. And it was fairly expensive for a two hour visit.

Thank CllrJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews