We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”
Review of The Alnwick Garden

The Alnwick Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.96*
and up
Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

You need a full day for this one if you want to do the gardens & castle. We only did the castle as we only had the morning. Wish we'd had time to do the gardens as they are meant to be really beautiful. The castle was great though - there was 8 of us in our party ranging from 15 year old girls to their 50+ parents. We all had a great time. Dressing up in the medieval costumes & the Harry Potter show were the highlights for me - a real giggle. The castle & grounds though are really beautiful in a beautiful setting!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TimHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,755
    816
    357
    175
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Glorious gardens”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have an arthritic hip so did not feel up to doing both Castle and Gardens so, as the weather was lovely, we decided to just do the Gardens and we found them really pleasant. The only downside for me was that the non-disabled car park is a bit of a walk from the entrance and on the other side of a busy road but there were plenty of seats available so I could rest when needed. We had to queue for a tour of the Poison Garden but it is definitely worth the wait - who knew that so many beautiful plants could be so deadly! If you are in the area, this is definitely worth a visit. Next time I'm in Northumberland, by hook or by crook I'm going the Castle as well!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An impressive castle with interest for adults and children”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We enjoyed several hours at Alnwick Castle. We didn't have time for a whole day's visit and decided to look round the more expensive castle rather than the slightly cheaper garden. The castle proved to have enough to occupy us, and we thought the combined price was overly expensive in any case. The castle looks fantastic to start with - just what a castle should look like. Inside there were things for children to do - holiday activities around a medieval castle, dressing up and so on; also Harry Potter film associations. For the adults, the state rooms were very elegant with lots to see and good interpretive information; for the children, they could look for an animal clue in each room. A lot of money has clearly been spent on the castle and facilities and the quality showed. Reasonable cafe and shop. Having also been to Bamburgh and Framlingham castles this year, we thought Alnwick the best by far. Alnwich town is worth walking round as well - pleasant market place and shops, and a large 2nd hand book shop.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheNoseyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EVEN IN GALE FORCE WINDS!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Perhaps not the best time to choose to visit but despite the gail force winds we had a lovely time in both the house and the garden.

The garden was wonderful - the water features are stunning. The Poison Garden was very interesting and the guide was informative and amusing. Well worth a visit.

It's quite expensive at £22 per person but we did spend the whole day there so I suppose hour by hour that doesn't work out to be too bad and all the facilities - toilets, restaurants, shops etc were excellent.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good day out bit a bit pricey if visit gardens too”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Good day out, children aged 13 and 9 enjoed the fact that prts of catle dedicated to Harry Potter. Some peole dressed up as characters and mingled with the kids. Whilst thought castle reasonable value I did think it was a bit much asking for another £11 each to visit the gardens ( we didnt). If you want to go to the tree house restaurant you need to book. We turned up and nothing was available all day

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank markwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing