We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff who genuinely want you to enjoy your meal. Carvery was fresh and delicious. Bonus that our dog was welcome too. No complaints.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnalb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bar meals food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food was excellent value and of a very high quality, we ate there on 2 occasions and Sunday lunch was as good as any pub food we have experiances. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch and a Friendly Welcome”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Couldn't fault the Queens Head, the Sunday Lunch was well cooked (veg were not boiled to death so very tasty) with good portions of Pork and Lamb (separate meals!!). The staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. Lovely pub atmosphere. A top tip for Alnwick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cracking meal. Chicken with a mild chilli sauce was to die for.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Couldn't fault the meal or service. As they say in Alnwick Bari... I recommend the chicken with a mild sweet chilli sauce

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmartin787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We only ate here but Friendly welcome, Excellent food & Service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were three adults and a 6 year old boy visiting Alnwick, over Easter weekend 2013, and were not very hopeful of finding too many places open serving food on an Easter Sunday evening. We then discovered the recently refurbished Queens Head Hotel which was serving evening meals and had a Sunday Roast on offer. We were somewhat sceptical about eating in a town centre pub in the evening with a our 6 year old grandson but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel which is really a pub was fairly quiet and we received a very warm & friendly welcome. The weather was bitterly cold and there was a warm, quiet and separate dining area with a pleasant atmosphere and with other diners already eating and we opted for various Sunday roasts all round. The female staff all made a fuss of our grandson and their service was quick, friendly and efficient. The helpings and quality of the food were also very good and good value.The drinks we also had were all normal pub prices. For family reasons we are likely to be visiting the area fairly regularly in the near future and will definitely eat at The Queens Head Hotel again.
We chatted to the landlord as we settled our very reasonable bill and he told us that they also do accommodation ( although we were not using it nor saw it at this time) and that he was having part of the dining altered soon so he could fit in and run a daily carvery.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almondonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head Hotel also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing