We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty meal”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Queens Head Hotel
Ranked #70 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hearty meal”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

While staying in Alnwick my wife and I had two meals at the Queen's Head.
Sunday lunch excellent. Beautifully cooked and presented and tons of it.
Saturday evening meal equally good. Steak Pie - yummy with great chunks of steak and fab. pastry. My wife's chicken and bacon salad very good but spoilt slightly by an undercooked baked potato which was returned uneaten.
Nice homely surroundings in an ideal location by the Market Square.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awsome”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was one of the best meals i have had in a long time. great pricesd great staff. I had the steak pie with proper pastry and i have to say you get amazing amount of food for what you pay. The girl that looked after us was great and very helpful. we went 3 nights in a row it was that good. highly recomended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrgeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland,
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New owners really nice n fresh”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Probably now one of the best in town, need I say more? Everything I seen on other tables looked lovely so I couldn't decide what to have so I went for something I don't see often, dressed crab and a salad with new pots.. So nice and a great change the smells coming passed me were lovely..already picked out the next visit
I came here about a year ago it was just ok, it's obvious it's got new people in , it sez so on a sign on the bar wall!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northumberland_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Dont eat here”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Ate here with my husband in April on our way down to York. Indescribably poor - the worst bar lunch I have had in a long time. I had the roast pork lunch. One and a half slices of roast pork mainly fat, "yorkshire pudding" which I couldnt even cut, hard roast potato and really sour tasting veg. My husband had steak pie - not much better. I would have complained bitterly normaly but we were just starting our holiday and I did not want to begin on a low.
There are many better places to eat - avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good value lunch”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went here on a snowy day during the Easter hols and was pleased to find it cosy and welcoming. Like the previous reviewer, we also had the roast dinner for lunch-one turkey and one beef. The meat was good, the vegetables served were copious and well-cooked. Maybe the gravy wasn't the best but it was certainly nice enough. At the price, I thought it was good value for money. There was some nice local beer- Alnwick IPA and another on draft, the name of which escapes me.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head Hotel also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing