We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Di Sopra

Di Sopra
Ranked #30 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Sister-in-law booked here for our anniversary. What an excellent meal! It was one of the best Italian meals I've had outside Italy. Starters excellent and the main course Strozzapretti de Mare was superb.
Service wasn't fast but atmosphere very laid back and the food tasted newly cooked. Waitress came and apologised for the delays and we had a lovely evening.
Would recommend for a lovely Italian laid back evening out

Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    116
    34
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Attractive enough upstairs restaurant and the overall the choice and quality of the starters and mains was very good and well cooked - ok it's not blow you away standard but it was tasty and satisfying. Good wines, nice personal service - but the desserts were bought in and pretty disappointing. A definite come-down from the mains - and not an Italian in sight! I'd eat here again but I'd go for starters and mains and skip pudding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

A varied menu of italien food included daily specials which were a little over priced. I chose a sea food pasta with scallops and monk fish which was very minimal on the latter two ingredients. The staff and service were very pleasant and the kids enjoyed it too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Middlesbrough21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is fine, but take a pillow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

To be fair, the food, when it comes, is not bad..... but it simply isn't worth the wait. The place was busy (50+) but we had pre-booked a Saturday 7:30pm table, so assumed they could cope. But service was very v e r y s l o w. Our order was simple enough, 3 lots of garlic pizza followed by pizza's all round plus one portion of fish, all of which finally appeared just after 9pm. When asking for fish to be skinned and boned, we were told the chef would be too busy to do this. When questioning their service speed we were told they were taking orders in strict rotation (not actually true), that they had only one chef and that the capacity of the ovens was limited. All of which might have been true is still not good enough - if you can only serve 30 people dont allow 50 people to eat in your restaurant. We did agree a discount to the bill, and suggest if you risk it and get the same treatment you do the same.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great value good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The comprehensive menu gives rise to excellent food at fantastic value for money. Lovely waitress, prompt service and all of us were happy - what more could you want?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diesel1Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Sopra also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Di Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing