We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wouldnt go again”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Although at £150 a nite it was far more than i would usually pay but i thought that it would be a nice treat for my girlfriend and I to stay their for the night but sadly for both of us(and my pocket it wasnt). on entering the hotel I walked in on an argument between a manager and the reception staff which made me feel very aqward and after getting checked in I was given directions to the carpark which was full so we ended up having to pay in a carpark. when we enterd our room we were greeted with the horrible smell of cigerretes which the previous people had left on the window sill and the smell in the bathroom was even worse. I felt something had to be said so I headed to reception only to be told that the cleaning staff had not reported it and that nothing could be done, it was then I realised that this wasnt the hotel that I was hoping for. The room was nothing special and getting hold of an iron and board turned into a major ordeal, our nights sleep was very interupted by the noise off the street which is somthing I would warn anyone about before booking as the front of the hotel is v noisey, the breakfast also disapointed as the food was of poor quality, This is the first time I hav written a review about a hotel but I really wouldnt like anybody to be as disapointed as me and my girlfriend were needless to say I wouldnt advise staying there and we will definatly not be returning even if it had been half the price!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenrithClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time and effort to record your thoughts regarding your stay with us at The White Swan Hotel. We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us, might I ask that you contact the hotel directly if I can be of any further assistance. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    346
    224
    107
    51
See reviews for
133
606
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We got married at Alnwick Gardens on July 3rd 2010. My husband, his ushers and most of his friends all stayed at Blackmore's up the road (excellent), my family (15 rooms full) and I decided to stay at the white swan because of the location and size of the suites. Four bridesmaids need a large room....this was the only good thing about the white swan (Diane was amazing but unfortunately for us, only organised the bookings).
It all started badly when we were only offered 5% off for a group booking. We accepted it and moved on.
When we arrived, the reception staff were miserable and uninterested... The waiter (spiky hair) which served us afternoon lunch - great. Pity about the uncooked baguette and awful beef sandwich which followed. I didn't think it would be hard to cook a steak sandwich in an award winning hotel, I was wrong.

We asked for a number of tables to be set up for dinner on the Friday before the evening. A few more guests wanted to join us; this was too much trouble for the staff. They were miserable and clearly couldn't be bothered to help. We settled for another table being given to us - the other guests went up the road to Blackmore’s (excellent).

The meal can only be described as 100% dire. My Pollock looked like it was half cooked. I sent it back. My Mum ate half of hers and regretted it. The other 12 diners had a very bad meal. A number of them were very ill the next day (our wedding day) and had to drink only water to get over their awful stomach aches. We complained and they took the food off the final bill.

The same story at breakfast. The hot plate is a disgrace. The sausages looked like they were from a tin, the mushrooms had been cooked forever and the beans, toms, eggs etc were all sitting miserably under a hot plate which wouldn't look out of place in a Premier Inn.

Our room was noisy, the tap dripped constantly and the toilet kept on flushing….the bed was really uncomfortable too.

We expected so much more from the White Swan. It could be such a great hotel, but the staff, quality of food and general atmosphere lets it down badly.
We attempted to complain when we settled our bill like many of our family and friends. Paul (Manager) attempted to tell us that everyone in our wedding party had a great time and nobody complained. This was a lie....we knew of at least 6 of our guests who complained. Our family and friends left feeling disgruntled and disappointed with what can only be described as poor customer service.
We won't ever be returning - and I would advise anyone reading this to stay at
Blackmore’s or Holly Lodge which were absolutely fab with our families and friends

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Natalie,
Thank you for your comprehensive review, we are sorry that our efforts prior to your arrival to the property and subsequent attempts to contact you post your departure has not on this occasion resulted in pleasant stay with ourselves. All guests did feedback positively to our reception team however; it was noted by some management of the hotel that this trend decisively changed strangely once we spoke on the morning of your departure. We have on record excellent comments from some of your guests who we communicated with extensively post departure regarding lost property which they left behind and can confirm we were successful in reuniting them with same. Suffice we endeavour to meet all guest expectations however on this occasion we did not meet your personal expectations. Should you wish to discuss this or any matter further please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The hotel is perfectly located steps from Alnwick castle. The room was small but clean and had everything you needed including WIFI. The staff was incredibly helpful, carrying bags to the room etc. There is no lift and the room was not 100% sound proof but other than that we were very happy with our stay there.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chilli09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure that all the team are aware of your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Swan Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had a small but clean room in the main part of the hotel. We found the staff friendly & helpful. Breakfasts were fine with a good range of hot & cold foods. Even as a non-meat eater I could enjoy a cooked breakfast. Both the bistro and Olympic restaurant offered a wide choice.
Yes the carpark was small and we rarely got a place in it but what do you expect from a 300 year old coaching inn! Anyway the public carpark behind was free to park in from 6pm- 8am.
We found this a good base to explore this part of Northumberland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiremoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We take all feedback from our guests exceptionally serious so that we can improve and better our service. We are pleased that you felt the overall experience to be very good, and have discussed your comments with the management team. If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Me and my partner came up to Alwick after visiting Hadrians Wall for a couple of days and this Hotel was recommended to us by friends as to be a good base to see Alwick Castle and Gardens, especially due to being able to get the tickets with the room.

The hotel was nice a seemed quite grand from the outside, the rooms were okay clean and modern, though the cleaning service wasn't the best, twice at breakfast I found glasses with lipstick still on them, and the glasses in the room looked like they hadn't been cleaned. Plus the duvet didn't fit the duvet cover

The Olymipic room where we have breakfast was nice (A copy of the dining room in the titanic) The the breakfast was a Buffet type and was sat under heat lamps. Also the didn't seem enough parking spaces for the hotel and was very cramped

It was a okay hotel for the price and was in walking distance of Alnwick Castle

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevergrowup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We travelled here on a package holiday, but this made no difference to the high quality of service we received throughout our stay. Mangers, receptionists and waiting staff were all efficient and friendly. We also had a good choice of evening meals and these were well cooked and enjoyable. Breakfast was also perfectly acceptable.

We had asked in advance for a quiet room and had a lovely room facing the back. We slept really well and cannot fault the room we were given. Overall this was a most enjoyable stay in a lovely town. Thanks to everyone at The White Swan for making our short stay so successful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope that you will come back again. Kind Regards, Paul Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here one night in the Bamburgh "Suite". For over £170 per night exceptionally disappointing room when compared with similar priced hotels in other, better locations. The bathroonm was small, the room was basic.

But worse, the room was situated at the front of the hotel and extremely noisy road with traffic going on late into the night. The windows are 'traditional' and therefore do not seal completely when shut meaning we could not block the noise out. We stayed on a Tuesday night so I have no idea how much worse it would be on a Saturday, for example.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlyle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us in our Bamburgh Suite. I do believe our Operations Manager, Mr Graham Bateman has spoken and corresponded with you post your departure from the hotel. Unfortunately, due to our excellent location within the town centre of Alnwick some guests do experience an element of noise. We are truly sorry if this disturbed you during your stay. Please do contact the hotel directly if I can be of any further help. Kind Regards, Paul Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing