We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weekend all round, unbelievable value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“fantastic weekend all round, unbelievable value for money!”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

had a fantastic weekend at white swan hotel. service, food and suite were all excellent and great value for money. the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly and the general manager took time out too ensure we were happy with our stay. we stayed in the warkworth suite which was modern and stylish, however, there was a little noise disruption during the night which is to be expected from a town centre on a saturday night. overall extremely pleasant stay - highly recommended! (pictures on this site dont do it justice at all)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amilo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    346
    224
    107
    51
See reviews for
133
606
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Much improved on our previous visit. Rooms nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. Walls would benefit from soundproofing as could hear next door's occupants conversations. Breakfast good. Didn't bother with dinner as very good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The white swan is in a good location, right in the middle of town and had a free car park at the back. They charged me £110 for a room which is a lot - especially when this is discounted from £140 !!! There is no way this is a hotel that can charge £100 for a room.
Our room was outside through some rubbishy back/side doors and past a bucket of the staffs cigarette ends in a different section of the building. As it was hammering it down this was an unexpected disappointment.

The room was small, clean and comfortable but the signal strength of tv in the area meant that the digital TV didnt really work. We ate in the brasserie - after the waitress had to go and find out if they were still actually serving as they had a large party of people in the restaurant - SO ?!?!?!?! (this is at 6:30pm)

She came back and said that we were allowed to eat which was nice. The food was thai curry which was adequate but not especially nice and at £10 a dish was poor value for money. The breakfast was a buffet and average - they had no fried eggs so people were waiting, the waiter went to get some more and after a long while returned which a whole 4 eggs .... for about 8 people waiting - laughable.

We checked out and moved to a B&B 50 yards away for £50 a night - half the price, and the breakfast there was fantastic and the room equally comfortable.

Its the main place in Alnwick but it certainly need to buck its ideas up, it thinks its far grander than it actually is and has a lot of competition in town. First time I have ever not recommended a hotel on trip advisor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
-England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Hotel is bang in the middle of Alnwick, rooms are comfortable. However, if you are a light sleeper don't accept room 110 (or, I suspect, 109 and maybe a couple of others). The extractor from the kitchens was rumbling all night right outside my window. Okay for me but may be a problem for others. As per other reviews, the food was awful. Pre-pack, frozen food, lacking imagination. I've used works canteens that do it better.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The hotel is very pleasant. Room was large clean and comfortable and reception staff were welcoming and friendly. The package we had, dinner, bed and breakfast and a free bottle of fizz in the room was excellent value.
Then came dinner!!I I can honestly say I cannot remember having been presented with such thoroughly disgusting food except perhaps on an airplane. Definatley boil in a bag stuff and badly boiled in a bag at that. The sauce with the fish was congealed and heaven only knows what flavour it was meant to be. My wife's desert was a joke two cold shop bought pancakes with a spoonfull of ice cream. The dining room staff were inexperienced and the restaurant manageress was verging on the rude.
Such a shame as we were very impressed with the rest of the hotel facilities

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

in main town street very clean food very good excellent service at breakfast buffett service at dinner a bit slower rooms modern and bright alnwick lovely visit the gardens deffintly would use again

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Spent a two night break at the White Swan - staff all polite and friendly and local and the room was spotless and the decor was of a high standard. Easy access to the town and Alnwick Castle Gardens from fornt and back doors. Our room was on the first floor at the front but not troubled by any traffic noise. Only minor criticism if one had to be found, would be the rather slow service at dinner in the Carvery. When we had a problem caused by another guest, the receptionist had the manager at our room in a few minutes and he returned again to make sure all was well and back again before going off duty to ensure everything was O.K. One cannot complain about service like that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing