We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms, nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
staffordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location is excellent, right in the heart of the town centre. Alnwick Castle & Gardens, 2 minutes walk away. Didnt use the attached Hardy's Bistro but found a superb pub, The Fleece Inn, 100 yards away, which had a welcoming real fire, plenty to choose on the menu and a 'Hot Stottie' to die for. The hotel room was clean and nicely furnished and the buffet breakfast was very good. Free wifi was another bonus.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    333
    213
    101
    45
See reviews for
123
581
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We used out Tesco coupons warily following previous comments but we found no problem with the hotel. That is apart from a new fire alarm with teething problems that went off several times the first night and we had to get dressed and rush to the car park at 6 am!!! Our room was clean, nicely decorated and quiet. Breakfast was OK. The evening staff on reception were delightful and gave us lots of tips of places to go with added local history thrown in! The dining room is impressive but we did not dine in as there were plenty of good restaurants to be found on this site (Louis Steak House was excellent!) . The local pubs were certainly interesting-real ale, darts matches, even live music in one. Plus the Castle is stunning. A most enjoyable couple of nights despite the wet weather.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Having had to cancel a trip to Alnwick we were relieved to arrive at the White Swan, very easily found off the A1. Although we were early the friendly, pleasant, receptionist booked us in and the room was ready and despite the lack of lifts we made our way quite easily up the stairs (I had packed in smaller cases to avoid having one heavy one to carry, knowing there were no lifts at the hotel).
We were pleasantly surprised to find a spacious, airy room, with everything we needed in it. It was a room facing the road but, despite the fact we kept our window open at all times, we were never bothered by noise. During the cleaning of the shower head (to prevent Legionnaires etc) ours was put back wrong and consequently we were paddling in the bathroom, but as soon as we mentionned it to reception someone came up and sorted it out for us.
Breakfast was OK, nothing exciting, but adequate to set you up for sightseeing. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, nice though the menu looked (different menu each evening) we preferred to go out. Only two doors away was the Tower Restaurant and we had some really lovely evening meals there - so good that that is the only place we ate! We did have some rather nice sandwiches in Hardys Bistro one lunch time.
The hotel was ideally situated for "Harry Potters castle" and the Alnwick gardens, both being only a short stroll away. It was also easy to leave by car to explore the surrounding area - Seahouses, Bamburgh etc, which we did as the weather was lovely.

All in all a lovely, comfortable hotel with very friendly staff - I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewdiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We spent 4 nights at half board and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay. We were a motorcycle group and the location is excellent for touring. Parking was available offroad. Both the dinner meals and the breakfasts were served in the Olympic Suite and our tables were always kept reserved for us. On two nights there was a coach party staying and the staff ensured our meals were not delayed in any way. All our rooms ,20 of them, were of a high standard Its the place to stay if you wish to visit Northumberland . .

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights with our daughter. The room was spacious with a view of Alnwick castle. The hotel is part modern and part historical which was quite quirky. The breakfast, which was a buffet style could not be faulted and the dining room was very impressive. We ate in Hardys Bistro that was attached to the hotel and the food and service was excellent - the hotel itself had an a la carte menu and you had to dress for dinner. We didnt think our noisy daughter would be welcome to other guests there but it would be perfect for a romantic meal! The staff were very friendly and efficient with our requests. The room was quite a walk from the reception but there was an alternative entrance/exit to the car park. I would recommend to anyone with walking difficulties to request a room near to the reception, although most of the traditional suites seemed to be located here. My only gripe was it was a bit dusty in parts of the room - the cleaners needed to get their dusters out more often! Overall a nice place to stay and very centrally located for Alnwick and the castle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

I can not understand some of the adverse comments made. We stayed 4 days and found the room excellent, the staff pleasant and all the meals were superb. The selection of food at the breakfast buffet was also very good. We could not fault the Hotel. Evidently some people must be impossible to please.

John T Torquay

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were wary about the hotel after reading critical reviews after booking. However our room was comfortable, clean and well decorated. The staff were very efficient, some a little brusque, but overall very friendly.
We ate in the bistro on two occasions and the food and service were good, certainly as good as anywhere else we ate.
Breakfasts were good, food was refreshed regularly, although there was no difference in choice from day to day.
Hotel is excellently placed for visiting Alnwick Gardens, just a short walk form the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johninstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing