We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had always wanted to stay here because I had been for coffee and had seen the public rooms. The rooms themselves are fine if compact but the stairways are a little faded and the stair carpet a little frayed. If you cannot manage too many stairs then make sure you book a ground floor or first floor room, there is no lift and there are 41 stairs up to the second floor. The hotel is very clean and the staff are mostly very efficient and helpful especially the restaurant manager. The breakdfast service was a little chaotic because there was a large coach party staying. It may have been better if non coach party residents had been served breakfast in the bistro. The food is good and there is quite a wide choice although the main restaurant is restricted to a set three courses, so if you don't want this and don't want to go out then head for the bistro. Another as a couple you are used to a big double do not book a classic double or book a twin

Room Tip: See above comments, avoid the second floor and if bookin a standard room book a twin if you like a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review.

Sadly we do not have a lift but will always asist with luggage where required.

Glad you enjoyed your stay,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just came back from two nights in Alnwick which is a lovely place. The White Swan is located in the main street and is a short walk to all that this lovely country town has to offer. The rooms we were given were small and refurbished with the bathrooms being just that bit too tight. The semi circular shower doors were simply a pain in the ___. My elderly mother was too frightened to use hers due to a lack of safety handles.
The lobby and other downstairs areas were lovely, particularly the grand dining room, and the wi-fi reception downstairs was great but in our room it was miserable. Breakfast was good but not exceptional and I was surprised at the extra charge of 3 pounds for salmon and eggs compared to the "Northumbrian" cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your review,

I am sorry not all aspects of your stay where satisfactory. On the whole however, i hope you enjoyed your visit to Alnwick.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Rotary Club of Alnwick meets here every Thursday at 12.30pm for food and fellowship. The service is friendly and efficient. Yannick is especially helpful and helped to make our President's Night one to remember. Well done to all the staff and a mention for Julie who is always willing to help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine_Smith44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to welocme you every Thursday.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a really good stay at the hotel on the spring break offer. It was definitely worth the money. The room was good and despite reading previous reviews on this site, we thought it was fine. We had a room at the front of the hotel and were disturbed in the middle of the night by a major commotion on the High Street. This is not the hotels fault and way beyond their control, but worth thinking about if you have along journey to complete the following day! Make sure you ask for a room away from the front of the hotel!! All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Olympic Dining room is impressive, the food however is not fantastic. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Would definitely stay again, but not in the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, but not at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplenjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. i hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here as attending event. The first room I got on check in I did not like mainly because it was twin beds. The rooms were old and dated. We went to the bar and the service was very good. As was breakfast the next day. Excellent.
Nice little hotel. Great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deal of bed, breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea was great value. The afternoon tea was wonderful. Dinner was average but the location in the Olympic dining room was a good experience. The Sauvignon blanc wine at £18.50 a bottle was terrible, very acidly and rough. Car parking at the hotel is at a premium but after a bit of a wait we got a free long term one at the back of the hotel. Overall a good little break and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor at the back of the old building and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galleryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. despite the wine not being to your pallate i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can weclome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fine overnight stay at the White Swan where we enjoyed our Wedding Anniversary. The staff and management were brilliant in terms of attention and service and I would like to thank them for ensuring that our stay was memorable. We took advantage of a special offer of Afternoon (Cream) Tea, Evening Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for an all-inclusive price and in addition to this, the staff also assisted in special requests I required to ensure my wife had a superb time.

Now it's not the fault of the hotel, staff or management, but the hotel has listed status, which means they cannot upgrade the windows (front facing) and about two years ago, a night club opened up, just the other side of the impressive town arch. Not a problem to be honest. The actual problem is the small pizza shop almost opposite which stays open late on Saturday nights to cater to the revellers from the night club. Whenever there's a warm evening on a Saturday or Bank Holiday, you can be assured that the club will be busy, which means the takeaway will be busy too. We stayed on a Saturday and there was some sort of altercation between revellers outside the takeaway which spilled on to the street. It totally destroyed our nights sleep.

Now the staff were very apologetic, however to be honest, it's a situation totally outside their control. So my advice to all who make reservations, is to follow up on the online booking form with a request for a rear facing room, at least if you are staying on a club night. The staff will do all they can to accommodate your requests.

Also ensure that if planning to dine (we fortunately did so) at the Olympic Restaurant (a truly impressive room taken from the RMS Olympic), that you reserve a dining spot, owing to limited covers available and occasional booking for weddings etc. Otherwise you will need to use the Bistro attached to the hotel. We booked a booth corner of the impressive dining room, taken from the First Class Dining Lounge aboard the Olympic and went the whole hog, dressing for dinner in full formal evening wear. Now dress is just smart casual and although we were deliberately over dressed, we didn't care. It just added to the magic of the evening.

You may also find that some of the standard double rooms are very small (hence warm in the Summer) and it may be worth considering upgrading to a suite (we plan to do so next time). Again however, speak to the hotel as some of the suites are front facing and would therefor suffer the same Saturday night blight affecting the smaller double bed rooms.

Room Tip: Look for a rear facing room not a front facing room owing to potential for noise on Saturdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your detailed review. your points are valid and appreciatted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,300 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
358 reviews
13.3 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: $109 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing