We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last month and really enjoyed it. It is an old building full of character but has every comfort and modern convenience you would need and the rooms are beautiful.

The food is good and excellent value.

The hotel is a great place for history fans and old ship enthusiasts, with its connection to the Titanic. The sister ship Olympic has its wood in the dining room and it's fascinating.

The staff are friendly and helpful and you could not get a better location. Even if you do not stay, consider having lunch or dinner here. The coffee is great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

Louise, our award winning barista was also delighted to hear your kind words about the coffee you sampled whilst with us.

I am also soo pleased you picked up on our fantastic location within the town and enjoyed your meal in our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night .
The room was very small could just about get around the bed.
Never seen a room so small , the toilit did not flush .
Service at breakfast was not good at all .
I just wanted a fryed egg hard. Came soft so I sent it back and got an egg that tasted of kippers .
I will not be back it is not worth the price they charge stayed in better places for less

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with ourselves. We view all feedback be it complimentary or critical as crucial to enhancing our commitment to customer service and hospitality.

I was indeed sorry to learn that you felt parts of your stay could have been improved. I was disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your room allocation however if you would like to discuss anything further regarding your stay please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Sunday 18th August for one night on route to Holy Isles and Scotland.

Excellent location with plenty of car parking, nice ground floor room (outside route to room?) and friendly, excellent service. Only sampled the breakfast of which was good and plenty of selection.

Alnwick is lovely and well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surveyor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. It really was a delight to hear your positive comments about how friendly our staff were, I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

I am so pleased you picked up on our fantastic location within the fantastic town of Alnwick and enjoyed breakfast in our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed three nights and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful throughout. Don't rely on parking in the hotel car park and make sure you book a table for dinner well in advance, especially on a Sunday – those were our only two niggles. When you do eat, it's really good. The rooms too were nice, but as a previous reviewer said, if you're looking out front the noise in the evening is pretty bad. I guess rooms out to the back are really quiet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel.

It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

Stephen, our Head Chef would also like to be associated with my thanks for the excellent food you mentioned you sampled in our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here one night in a family room with our 6 year old. Nice room - shame about the noise from the local youths leaving pubs which seemed to go on until 3am. It was a Friday night though. Really excellent meal in the wonderful wood panelled dining room - they even had a three course vegan menu prepared for my wife with several choices for each course. Perfect location for Alnwick castle and gardens which is just around the corner. Lovely service in the restaurant and on the front desk.

Room Tip: Noisy if room overlooks the street at the front on the Friday we stayed - people noise, not traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

I was sorry to learn of the noise you seem to have experienced outside the hotel in what was a very busy weekend in Alnwick. Stephen, our Head Chef would also like to be associated with my thanks for the excellent food you mentioned you sampled; I am so pleased you picked up on our fantastic location within the town and enjoyed visiting our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here last night with my husband. Our room was clean, fresh and comfortable. We were welcomed by extremely friendly staff...in fact the staff throughout the hotel are wonderful. We drank in the Bistro before Dinner, of which was in the Olympic Suite. A first class Dining experience...from the service, the food and the ambience of the piano player (who played a request not on his extensive list, so very impressed). We will definitely return to this 'little gem' in Northumberland. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janettesbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

I am so pleased you picked up on our stunning Olympic Suite which really does create an amazing ambience when coupled with our resident pianist.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband won a stay in the white swan via a work incentive which included breakfast.Staff were nice and friendly ,the room was large and clean.The location is excellent.We decided to fine out instead of in the hotel so only sampled breakfast the next morning.There was a good selection of cereals and spreads for toast.I had went Ott on the Indians I had the night before so struggled after a few mouthfuls of my cooked breakfast.All in all a good experience but given that there are so many nice cheap places to eat out in Alnwick I think I'd maybe look for a cheaper b and
B once I'd looked at the prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

I am so pleased you picked up on our fantastic location within the town and enjoyed breakfast in our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: $108 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing