We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Good service”
Review of Grannies

Grannies
Ranked #13 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Grannies Tea room and Delicatessen was established around 1984, then the tearoom only held a couple of tables placed within the shop. It was only later, in 1989, that the intimate downstairs tea room was developed within the basement where the old fashioned coal chutes, old style steps, fireplace and flagstone flooring can still be seen. Grannies is a strong advocate for the local food movement in Alnwick, and offers a wide range of local produce within the deli, shop and tea room.
Amble, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and Good service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We regularly visit Grannies on shopping trips to Alnwick. There is always a friendly welcome and excellent food. The deli upstairs also has a good selection of tasty goodies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    52
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Monster butty”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place for that lunch time meal, there were four of us and nobody was dissapointed. reasonably priced and a cosy place to visit and eat

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the tuna crunch baguette and the prawn curry one, both were very tasty and there was plenty of it. Will be back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the nicer tea-rooms”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Grannies actually is much more than just tea rooms though we just had tea and scones. They also have a fairly extensive food menu - I saw the portions being brought to other tables - I don't think you'd leave hungry, and it looked very good too. Judging by how busy Grannie's was especially compared to the other cafes in Alnwick, it would seem that a lot of other people are choosing this place over the competition. I can see why. Very friendly service and a nice atmosphere. The tea rooms are downstairs with the exception of one table in the upstairs window. The rest of the upstairs is an upmarket bakery and delicatessen. I tried one of their home made sausage rolls - only p more than one bought at Greggs, but in a different class altogether. If you are in Alnwick, I would certainly recommend Grannies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We loved it! Great lunch for not a lot of money. You cannot go wrong at Grannies - small, quirky and worth a visit. The value for money is amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grannies also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Grannies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing