We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sandwich but a stale scone and incredibly slow service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grannies

Grannies
Ranked #11 of 116 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Grannies Tea room and Delicatessen was established around 1984, then the tearoom only held a couple of tables placed within the shop. It was only later, in 1989, that the intimate downstairs tea room was developed within the basement where the old fashioned coal chutes, old style steps, fireplace and flagstone flooring can still be seen. Grannies is a strong advocate for the local food movement in Alnwick, and offers a wide range of local produce within the deli, shop and tea room.
Fife
Level Contributor
192 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Lovely sandwich but a stale scone and incredibly slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Grannies is a lovely little restaurant with much charm but very slow & poor service. Our coffee arrived a good 20 minutes before our sandwich and while the sandwich was delicious the scones which we ordered for afters were very stale and obviously not freshly baked. We were offered cream or butter with them and opted for cream, to find it was out of an aerosol was a big disappointment. Tables were slow to be cleared and staff were very unattentive. It was so hard to catch thier attention it was almost comical, almost as amusing as watching them pace themselves wash a few cups and saucers, I am sure the water must have been cold by the time they finished! Will be visiting this area again but will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    50
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice little tea room with an old fashioned feel to it. Good selection on the menu and very adequate portions. Staff very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Small and quaint, good service. The food was exceptional, huge portions of the most delicious deli-style food. We had a club sandwich and a panini and could have fed four with the amount we were given and the prices were very reasonable. My sandwich had layer upon layer of bacon, chicken and avacado plus nachos and lovely homemade coleslaw. Struggled to finish it. My husband had the panini which came with loads of lovely salad and was more like a main meal than a sandwich. It's probably hard to get a seat at the weekend but worth the wait. I think we paid something like £5-6 each for the food plus a little extra for a pot of tea. Couldn't eat for the rest of the day. Really couldn't rate this place highly enough and will definitely be returning :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in Britain !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a lovely little cafe where you go downstairs into a period cafe. They have a brilliant range of sandwiches. I love Brie and grape and Stilton and pear. They come with colslaw and salad so its quite a feast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank duckling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had cake and shorbread to take out as we were staying in a holiday apartment just across the road. Brilliant well made delicious, our son and his wife went for lunch and rerally enjoyed it.
Not expensive at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grannies also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Grannies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing