We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cappucino & scones” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Lounge

Strawberry Lounge
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Strawberry lounge is a small cafe / smoothie bar selling homemade scone and cake and milk shakes / smoothie made on the premises daily
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cappucino & scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nealy missed this gem as we walked around Alnwick. Done a little alley which you have to look out for. We were well located in front of the serving area and could see all the comings and goings. Huge fresh scones which we could hardly finish. The must have been 10-12 types to chose from. My wife had cheese and chili where I had apple and pecan. Two large mugs of cappucino were greatly appreciated before we headed out into the rain again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    38
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alnwick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value, and reasonable quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have visited 4-5 times now. Good choice of specials, but if you go late there'll be less choice and sometimes they may have forgotten to rub it off the specials board so could be disappointed when you order. The scones and drinks are particularly good value for money, and the light lunches are not bad value either. The menu is very appetising with a combination of different flavours, most of the time you will not be disappointed. Most dishes come with a salad and crisps but they now also offer chips which is good. Very good value and cosy place to be, and they have a large selection of sauces and dressings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluberry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place is hidden away. The have a great range of daily specials, including vegetarian options. The salads are lovely. I recommend the vanilla milkshake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parvatithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Huge homemade scones, huge smoothies and milkshakes, and a great atmosphere, all for very little money! If you're the kind of person who sees people selling cupcakes for a fiver and thinks "I'd really like one, but they're far too expensive" then this is the place for you. Great food at great prices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Twdhedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Well was visiting mum and she had been here before so we headed for tea and coffee with one of my boys, they had tea and scone ,you don't just get a piddly cup of tea but a cracking pot I thought I'll have a pork and stuffing roll just to tide me over,when it came what a plate full salad wedges the works ,didn't have to eat again all day,and all the food that the other customers had ordered looked very appetising ....lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hyperkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Lounge also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Strawberry Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing