We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Varanda - CLOSED

Varanda
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Ordered a take away curry from here. Chose a monk fish dish. When I got it home it didn't look too appetising and the monkfish was not monkfish. It was clearly frozen white fish of some variety maybe cod but was very old and disgusting when I rang to complain they didn't even try to hide the fact it wasn't as advertised and told me to come back for a replacement. Would never go again appalling food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Doogatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Takeaway disaster!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We placed a large order to this restaurant (£120) which was to be collected to take away. When we came to eating we discovered that several items which we had ordered were missing. We contacted the restaurant who were happy to deliver the missing items. One of the meals (tandoori chicken tikka) smelt foul in the packaging and once open it looked and smelt like rotten meat. It was shown to the member of staff delivering our missing items and they agreed that it was rotten/inedible! They refused to refund our whole meal (as you can imagine we were reluctant to sample the rest) and only offered a replacement. Will never be eating from or within this restaurant for fear of the repercussions!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank SDee1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the Varanda of old.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Open the front door on a cold night and you enter a smart,warm restaurant.
That's where it ends.
The food was not good,my tandoori mixed grill consisted of five pieces of meat swimming in oil, which must have come from the onions.
The side dishes were awful.
My wife had a chicken dish which you couldn't chew.
Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We walked out!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

After been seated at a table with a dirty tablecloth, we eventually gave our food order to the waiter! While waiting for our food we noticed the table next to us complaining about their chicken being raw, and it did look completely raw! The other surrounding tables then looked a little nervous, as we were! After a long wait we recieved our mixed platter starter, and the chicken was fine, however the lamb minced kebab was totally raw inside! I know these can be slightly pink inside, but it was no where near that! With that we told the waiter we were leaving and he was apologetic. The couple on the table behind us were carefully disecting their food! The only good thing i have to say about this restaurant is that although the service was very slow the waiters and barman were all very pleasant and looked very embarrassed about the whole thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dancingqueen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Alnwick”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I live in Alnwick and I can tell you that the one bad review on here is just after the restaurant first opened. Since then there is a new chef and the food is among the best indian's I have eaten and my wife and I eat in here regularly.

There are two indian restaurants in Alnwick and most locals will tell you that the Varanda is the best by far.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varanda also viewed

 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing