We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a club sandwich at all and over picked”
Review of Baileys

Baileys
Ranked #67 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a club sandwich at all and over picked”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have called in today for my lunch while I was working in the area. I ordered a club sandwich and bottle of pop, it came to just short of £7. I had it as a takeaway as the cafe was full. The sandwich was just 2 slices of fresh white bread with butter, mayo, a lot of lettuce and tomato and 2 slices of very fatty undercooked bacon. There was no chicken on it at all and the bacon was disgusting, that much so I took it off and just had the lettuce and tomato. The sandwich hadn't even been cut so it was impossible to eat and fell apart. I was very disappointed, as with the cafe being busy and the price I expected the food to be good.
I will not be returning or recommending to anyone as it was truly shocking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    22
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great scones”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bailey's do great scones, fruit,plain and cheese also loads of other things. Try there coffee with Bailey's in it's wonderful. Good position for keeping an eye on the visitors to the town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsmick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Had an enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was very busy and obviously a popular place to eat with the local community. Had an enjoyable luch surrounded by lots of local atmosphere. The food was good and the staff were very keen to provide a good service.
We would go back and enjoy the atmosphere again!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“first time visit”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As a local lass i enjoy going around different pubs/cafes with my 2 yr old son. Went inTO Baileys around 11am(ish) & it was already busy, only a couple of tables free. While sitting down i noticed they seem to have alot of regulars who have cake & coffee, which is always a good sign. We didnt have to wait long at all before our drinks and food were brought to the table. Staff were friendly 7 helpful. Could't ask for more. thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rlambert91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy Yumnny”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Brilliant.... Hot choc to die for with cream on top and marshmellows! The cakes are yummy and not too expensive. A must when in Alnwick

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barnsleybell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baileys also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Baileys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing