We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive glass of coke!”
Review of Penny Black - CLOSED

Penny Black
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bar with dining. Also late night venue
Alnwick, Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive glass of coke!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Been twice for a light lunch. The food is good value, but they charge £2.20 for a glass of coke which spoils it

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melmahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First impressions - stale beer and vomit”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Even though the exterior looked nice, we went in and all we could smell was stale beer and vomit. We were taken to our table and ordered food which took 50 minutes to arrive! It was over priced and the food was average. After the paying the bill the owner made some remark about me and my party being from Scotland, I have lived in Northumberland for over 20 years and this has never happened! I will never visit again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food an service”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hopped in after looking at the specials board. Would have to say greeted instantly by the friendly staff, had a great chat with the owner before placing our order. The food is really good an eying other tables there's just looked as good. Would highly recommend this place, if we pass thru this way again will stop by for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a gem of a place”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

my friend and i ate at penny black and were very impressed by the friendly staff who couldnt do enough to help, the food was beautifully cooked and presented and was plentiful, and the price was so reasonable. a return trip is certainly being planned

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“once again it was excellent”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

back to penny black with family 14 all together not one complaint beef was to die for also white chocolate cheesecake could not fault left 30 pound tip well worth it the gravy alone was worth the price of the meal it was a meal in its self my advice dont listern to william j go and try it you will not be dissapointed

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Black also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Shilbottle, Alnwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing