We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alnwick Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a good, clean ensuite private room. There are good facilities at hostel overall - can't fault it for a stay with a young teenager who didn't want to go in a shared dorm. The hostel is close to everything you'd want to go to in Alnwick. Wifi not available throughout the building though, but is available during the day at the gorgeous Barter Bookshop.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 433 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

i stayed 6 nights and felt welcome from the begining to end, the staff were excellent, in particular andrew. very clean, nice kitchen and dineing facilities. the location is perfect for the town, alnwick gardens and castle, would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good value for families - clean, welcoming, pleasant lounge and games room. Five mins walk from Main Street. Alnwick is a pleasant market town and a good base for exploring coast and inland. It was fairly quiet at February half term, but warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fennelseed43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The reception was excellent. The facilities even better. For less than £20 a night where else could you get a very clean ensuite bedroom, well appointed self catering facilities & a comfortable lounge with wide screen television. Add to this the central location with nearby drinking & dining establishments & you come up with tremendous value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tynedale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwickyh, General Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

The team are always pleased to hear that we are getting it right.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Alnwick Youth Hostel, and look forward to welcoming you back to Alnwick in the future.

Best wishes

Andrew - Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

51 of us stayed here recently to celebrate a family birthday. The facilities were perfect for our event and location was ideal. Thanks to Andrew & staff everything went according to plan for our celebration on Saturday night. I think I speak for everyone when I say we all had a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatoHamiltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Clean room with en-suite facilities and comfortable beds. Good value breakfast, and good facilities for self-catering. Good location, only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Friendly staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwickyh, General Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alnwick Youth Hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alnwick again in the future.

Best wishes

Andrew

Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We thought we would give this place a try to save some money when visiting the area for an event, very glad we did! Close to the town centre, good price, very clean with own bathroom, exceptionally friendly staff. We will return when next in the area. Very glad we chose to stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinktiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alnwickyh, Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alnwick Youth Hostel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Alnwick in the future.

Best wishes

Andrew

Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
0.0 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alnwick Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Youth Hostel

Address: 34-38 Green Batt, Alnwick NE66 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Alnwick
Price Range: $52 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alnwick Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the town's Court House, now a new independent town centre youth hostel, Alnwick Youth Hostel welcomes guests from all over the world. The spectacular Northumberland coastline is only a short drive away to the east, the National Park and Cheviot Hills to the west. Alnwick Castle (of Harry Potter fame), The Alnwick Gardens and the beautiful medieval town all within walking distance. With 15 bunk rooms, all en-suite, from two to six-bedded, including some ground floor bedrooms, Alnwick Youth Hostel offers both families and independent travellers all the comfort you would expect from a hostel in a great location. We offer a tasty buffet breakfast to set you up for the day (and can provide a full catered option for group bookings). The hostel also has a comfy lounge, bright and airy dining room, games room, courtyard with outdoor seating and a drying room. Cyclists have use of a secure bike store onsite. Our reception staff are on hand to offer tourist advice, sell you a locally brewed beer or two and can even recommend a good cafe for a decent cup of tea. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alnwick Youth Hostel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing