We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Northumberland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fantastic meal, fantastic service, fantastic all round, we shall definetly return. Could not fault The
Joiners arms, absolutley gorgeous. May even book a room for the night as they look beautiful. Thank you very much for a really enjoyable lunch and drinks, also the cocktails are beautiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Public Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. We fully appreciate your lovely feedback. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and had the chance to sample our cocktails! and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future for an overnight stay.

Kind Regards,
Ashley Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    227
    94
    68
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went here after reading good reviews and recommendations. Sunday lunch was very poor and for the cost not good value at all. Hardly any veg, 2 halves of a hard roast potato, meat was OK and comes with a giant Yorkshire pudding which was cold. I don't like Yorkshire puds so take that away and there was actually very little on the plate. The rest of party said burgers were just OK but the chips tasted weird, I suppose it's the beef dripping they are cooked in...not much use if you don't eat beef! Onion rings were greasy and tasted of fish, which it assume means they are cooked in the same oil as the battered fish. 4 main meals and 2 rounds of drinks was £85.... A very expensive lunch indeed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KP1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Public Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your visit to The Joiners Arms. Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise for your bad experience, and hope we will get the chance to make it up to you in the near future.
I am disappointed to hear your Sunday lunch was not up to our usual standards. We will certainly look into the causes for these issues as we take all customer comments very seriously. If I could ask you to take some time to contact me on info@apartment-group.com to discuss any further problems, or additional help I may be able to offer.
Kind Regards,
Ashley Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“super sunday”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Excellent Ale and very good food, was unable to sit outside after 6pm due to issues but they are now resolved

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Public Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. We fully appreciate your lovely feedback. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Ashley Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendliness and service is missing”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Lately we find standards are slipping at the Joiners, is it because the manageress ? Debbie is not around her personality gave the place and service a lift.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank berwyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Public Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.
I am disappointed to hear your visit was not up to our usual standards. We will certainly look into the causes for these issues as we take all customer comments very seriously. If I could ask you to take some time to contact me on info@apartment-group.com to discuss any further problems, or additional help I may be able to offer.
Kind Regards,
Ashley Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a meal here twice during the week and both lovely, but you have to book to avoid being disappointed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 871Reet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Public Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. We fully appreciate your lovely feedback. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visits to us, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ashley Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing