We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome and great food”
Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a lovely pub with a interesting and varied menu and great tasting food. Staff all very welcoming and friendly. Well worth a visit

1  Thank ReesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi ReesLondon,

Thank you for your comments on your trip to the Joiners.
I'm happy to hear that you found our menu selection a little different and enjoyed your meal.

We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for The Joiners Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 886 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived here early just as well as it is very popular. The décor was nice and there was plenty room between the tables. The staff made us very welcome with quick service and still made time to speak to you. The menu had a good choice to select from, we had the fish which was brilliant with nice dry chips (one of the best we have had) and all the other meals we saw being served looked just as good. We will be back !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro-Galashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Good Afternoon PedroGalashiels,

Thank you for your review of the Joiners Arms.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and fully enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere in the Joiners.

We would love to see you again, so please hurry back!

Thanks
Holly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Friends of ours had eaten here some time ago so while we were staying nearby we thought we'd give it a go. We weren't disappointed.
It was Friday night so we'd booked. It's always good when the staff take the time to chat with you, which all of them did. Our order was taken within a short while of us being seated, and as all of the food is freshly cooked to order, the short wait for it to be served was not a problem. I had fishcakes as a main, which were flavour-some and packed with fish, which I could taste. The accompanying chips were cooked in beef dripping (seems to be a theme in this part of the world) and were good. My wife had the burger, which she said was well cooked and tender. She also enjoyed her chips! There is of course more on the menu than these, ranging from plates to share to puddings; all seemed to be reasonably priced
The place was busy and everyone we saw received good service from the staff (of which there were plenty). Thank you to all the staff for a nice night.
The Joiners Arms has been added to our list of places to eat if we are ever in the vicinity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi Mike Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Joiners Arms.
I'm happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your visits with us and had a lovely meal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,
Holly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely environment, quirky touches and large family friendly space. Fantastic staff - humorous & smiling (so unusual these days, but Northumberland excels in friendliness). The food was terrific, tempura prawns sound pretty standard but this restaurant elevated them to a high standard and served them with crab. Fish cakes superb, chowder lovely. Kids menu excellent....and our delighted dog could lie beneath the table ( scavenging for crumbs that never came as we ate it all). Honestly! I do query some of the reviews I read, but as I was a total novice to the area, I relied upon recommendations from trip advisor or Alisdair Sawday to find places to go. I can genuinely endorse this restaurant (pub/inn?) It was lovely. We were a party of 3 adults & 3 children ranging from 70 yrs - 3yrs plus dog ;) everyone enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebroadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of the joiners arms,

It was a pleasure to hear that you and all your family enjoyed your meal with us and that the dog
could join in too.

We would love for you to visit us again.

Thanks
Holly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch at the Joiners Arms on 13th October. The food was delicious and the service very friendly. Our whole party enjoyed the warm atmosphere of the pub, which was helped by the roaring log fire and the cosy decor. Heartily recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Lauren S,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent trip to The joiners Arms.
I am glad to hear that you all really enjoyed your Sunday lunches and found our log fire a pleasant and warming experience.

We would love for you to visit us again soon.
Thanks
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing