We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic meal in a beautiful country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal in a beautiful country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch at the Joiners Arms on 13th October. The food was delicious and the service very friendly. Our whole party enjoyed the warm atmosphere of the pub, which was helped by the roaring log fire and the cosy decor. Heartily recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Lauren S,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent trip to The joiners Arms.
I am glad to hear that you all really enjoyed your Sunday lunches and found our log fire a pleasant and warming experience.

We would love for you to visit us again soon.
Thanks
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    218
    87
    65
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
234 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“So near yet.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is more of a restaurant than a pub and the atmosphere is good and the decor is bright and welcoming.
We had a table booked but stood around for a while before anyone came to tell us our table.
The staff were friendly enough, the owner/manager especially so, but the efficiency came and went, having to ask more than once for the bill at the end.
The prices are on the high side but in keeping with the surroundings, most main courses £11-£16, steaks a bit more. The menu read well with some interesting dishes.
So far good enough, but the main failing was the food. My pumpkin tortellini (main course) was very nice and the creamy sauce was, well, creamy, without being too rich or overpowering and some wild mushrooms there as well. Just about enough quantity.
The pheasant which was being pushed on the day was reported to be dry and the bacon a bit too salty which overpowered the pheasant.
The fish cakes (main course) were described as ok but nothing special, especially for the price, and the plate was mostly filled with a pile of chips (mind, the chips were VERY nice!) in a mini fryer. Given 7/10 by the people who had those.
Booking advisable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi ash666,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review.
There are some valid comments and these will passed onto the managers to review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your main course and hope that your experience wasn't affected in any way.

We hope we will see you again soon.
Thanks,
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unique Seaside Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first time visiting this unique establishment and we will certainly be back. The food was fantastic especially the fish and chips. I cannot fault the staff they were very welcoming and accommodating which is exactly what you want when visiting a new location. when asking for reccommendations on what to eat and drink the staff were very informative and knowledgable about what they were selling.

As a dog lover it was fantastic to see that they were allowed in the venue. This just added to the unique feel ' The Joiners Arms' has going for itself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi Louise M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Joiners Arms.
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your first experience with us and had a lovely meal.
We do pride our-self on our freshly made food and unique feel so i'm glad to see you welcomed our dog policy.

Please come back and see us all again soon!
hollyryder@apartment-group.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food was very good, especially the fish and chips! Not too keen on dogs being allowed into the restaurant but apart from that it was very enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pete2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review on the Joiner Arms.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and meal with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
hollyryder@apartment-group.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Losing it's edge to greed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

When this place first opened it was a breath of fresh air, great food, friendly staff and well kept beers. The fish and chips were legendary.
This has however changed, an example the fish and chips are now just good. The manager Robin appears a very decent bloke and proud of the set up and is always welcoming and eager to please.
The bad news is the prices. We were walking this weekend and called in for 3 diet cokes, £5.70 or £3.80 per pint, most of which was ice. Basically dearer than beer. I mentioned this to a friend, who was similarly enraged, paying over £9 for a beer and a glass of wine.
Think they have lost the plot as from now on we will simply walk past and go to The Ship which is on the beach and the food here is limited.
Pity, greed is killing this pub and you can see it getting quieter. The group owns bars in Newcastle, such as "As you like it" and you can accept big city prices in a big city, but not in a sleepy Northumberland village.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi Chesterfoodies,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I'm sorry to hear that you feel this way regarding the joiners i do apologies
If you could send me a contact phone or email address, id be happy to discuss this further with you.

Thanks
Holly
hollyryder@apartment-group.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing