We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub food”
Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Called a couple of times whilst we were staying in Low newton by the sea. First visit for lunch and had a splendid fish and chips whilst sat outside. Second visit was for an evening meal. My fiancee and I were very pleased with the service and the quality of the food. All locally sourced and fresh. A pleasure to eat there.

Thank Fishingtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback regarding the Joiners Arms.
We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to your next visit.

If you would like to sign up to be one of our members just enter your contact details in our website and we will send you special offers and what’s going on as well as £100 worth of vouchers to use in a variety of our venues.

Thank you,

Customer Feedback Coordinator

hollyryder@apartment-group.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 946 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having read the reviews, we looked forward to an evening meal here during our hols in the area. We'd booked an early table some days before and had requested one in the restaurant by the windows (family member with phobia) - on arrival had been reserved a corner one in busy bar. So not a brill start but nice lass moved us into the restaurant which already had several parties eating. Lots of coming and going from the kitchen and waitress chat though while setting up, so wouldnt advise sitting too close to the kitchen end if you get a choice. The food is very good though - the lamb and fish were delicious and generous. The pumpkin tortelloni is divine but such a small portion for a main - you'll finish yours well before the others are even half way through their meal, which is a bit awkward. So thats expensive for what you get and a side serving of veg would soften the blow. Desserts - we still had space but a bit disappointed by a rather limited choice. Nothing with chocolate either - a moaning teenager! The cheesecake was tasty and nicely served, but at £6.95 a pricey pud. The ice cream - asked for chocolate but they'd run out and no offer by waiter of the other flavours available - just suggested vanilla. Three scoops and a wafer in a small bowl, no sauce, cream or decoration, so a disappointment at £4.95. Mugs of a good coffee @ £2 though made a nice ending. The ambience and service here is good and the food is tasty but not cheap (and we aren't cheapskates, honest!) - so in the end we weren't as wowed as we'd hoped, given the reviews. Maybe too much expectation is a bad thing then! But give this place a go - we'd return again and maybe try the lunch menu another time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VCB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Joiners Arms.
We're sorry to hear your visit was not up to our usual standards. We will certainly look into the causes for these issues.
Could you please send me an email or contact number for yourself and we can look in to solving these issues.

Thanks,

Customer Feedback Coordinator
hollyryder@apartment-group.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

went here with our daughter and son in law for sunday lunch it was packed so best to book, huge Yorkshire puddings lovely lunch. and has outside tables so nice summer eating place.

Thank Ireneann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding The Joiners Arms.
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and had a nice time.
We hope to see you again very soon,

The Joiners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We took our two young children there for an early dinner on the way back from Alnwick last week and had a great meal. Not only was the meal superb but the whole experience was great. The staff could not have been more welcoming and there were very tolerant of our little ones. One waitress was very attentive and brought over colouring sheets and crayons. It made for a very relaxing experience.
I opted for liver and mash and my husband, the chouder. They were superb. There is a fab kids menu too. I would go back there in a shot:-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MelColman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback about your recent visit toThe Joiners, We appreciate every comment and cannot wait to see you again.

If you would like to sign up to be one of our members just enter your contact details in our website and we will send you special offers and what’s going on as well as £100 worth of vouchers to use in a variety of our venues.

If you ever need anything else or have any further comments regarding your experience with us please do not hesitate to contact me personally on hollyryder@apartment-group.com and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went to Joiners Arms on a Sunday afternoon with no reservation but the staff managed to get us a table. The restaurant was very busy and we thought we would have to wait a long time for food but were pleasantly surprised to be served pretty quickly. We ordered Pork ,Lamb and two lots of Fish & Chips and all were excellent beautifully cooked and the service was excellent. It was not cheap but it was lovely.There was also a good selection of nice drinks at the bar and if the weather was nice a lovely beer garden out front.all in all it could be recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback about your recent visit toThe Joiners, We appreciate every comment and cannot wait to see you again.

If you would like to sign up to be one of our members just enter your contact details in our website and we will send you special offers and what’s going on as well as £100 worth of vouchers to use in a variety of our venues.

If you ever need anything else or have any further comments regarding your experience with us please do not hesitate to contact me personally on hollyryder@apartment-group.com and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing