We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous B&B, best ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bow House
Ranked #4 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B, best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am a tour guide and had my private group of 3 staying with me in Bow House in August 2013, we took up 3 bedrooms. All the bedrooms were beautifully kitted out with a huge amount of attention to detail. Delicious tea/coffee/biscuits available together with a small decanter of sherry! Everything about the room was very comfortable and I know that my clients felt the same way. My room was on the same side of the nearby church. I had been told I might need earplugs, but no, I didn't have any problem at all with the very quiet chiming. So excellent sleep! Breakfast in the Breakfast room was delicious Everything was wonderfully fresh. The quiet classical music from the radio in the background made for a nice peaceful atmosphere. Free drinks in the fridge were very welcome at the end our busy days. Our host was extremely helpful and solicitous. Nothing was too much trouble. He recommended 2 restaurants to us, which we tried and found to be excellent. These were the Art House and the Tree House inside the grounds of Alnwick Castle. Everything was in walking distance, so very conveniently placed. Prior to staying in Bow House, I had been to Alnwick to research the castle. I was unable to stay at Bow House as it was full, but David the host showed my husband and I around Alnwick and introduced us to various owners of restaurants. This was all very helpful for my trip with the clients, getting the lie of the land. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Bow House for a delightful stay in Alnwick.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the nearby church bells. They are not a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alipal186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
231
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped off in Alnwick on our way back from visit to Scotland. We chose Bow House from trip advisor recommendations and its proximity to Alnwick town cter of centre. We received a call on mobile from David (owner) on our way down to check our approx time of arrival. On arrival, David was very courteous and obviously very keen on 'customer care'. Our room (Crecy) was immaculate and has a good sized veranda with table and chairs. Room has all mod cans with additional touches such as small decanter of sherry, filter coffee and various tea options. Previous trip advisor reports had referred to church bells ringing on regular cycle and whilst ear plugs provided, we had no problems sleeping and only heard them once sitting on veranda.
Breakfast options were excellent, and cooked to order. Breakfast room is light and airy and if weather permits you can sit outside on patio.
Bow House is ideally suited to Alnwick centre two minute walk and only 5/10 min walk to castle and gardens (well worth a visit).

David recommended a couple of restaurants to eat on first night and we were not disappointed with Lilburn's.

No hesitation in recommending Bow House and would stay on our next trip to Northumberland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Bow House is a small four-bedroom guesthouse ideally situated just a couple of minutes from Alnwick's high street. The owners Bev and David do not live on site, so when asked when you will be arriving during the booking process, make sure you arrive at the allotted time or you may have to wait outside on the street until they turn up!

There's no doubt Bev and David have worked hard to provide everything their guests might need, from a decanter of sherry in the bedroom, access to a help-yourself-for-free fridge stocked with beers and cold drinks, and a daily newspaper and lots of guidebooks in the breakfast room to parking passes (not just for the on-street parking outside but also for council-run car parks throughout Northumbria) and ear-plugs to drown the noise of the bells of the nearby church clock, which chimes throughout the night.

The whole place is pristine and the breakfasts delicious. The latter has to be ordered the previous evening by ticking a menu provided and nominating the time between 8am and 9am you want to eat. Bev & Dave's attention to detail is such that when we forgot to state the time on our order, a request for the information was pushed under our door at gone 10pm.

It may seem harsh, but this quest for perfection is both the reason we awarded Bow House four stars - and also the reason we didn't give it the absolute top rating. Bev and David work so hard to give their guests the perfect experience that they continually seem anxious and are forever checking if everything is OK - which doesn't make for the most relaxing of experiences...you feel duty bound to try to live up to their idea of the perfect guest. Like us, I would hazard a guess that most of the people who stay at Bow House (judging by the ones we met) would never knowingly damage any of the facilities provided, so I found the many instructions - such as to use the wipes provided in the bathroom to remove make-up to avoid it getting on the towels, or to call the owners immediately if you spilled anything on the carpet - somewhat unnecessary.

That said, with a little less angst and obsession with perfection, this place really would be perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family took all four rooms at Bow House as our son was getting married at Alnwick castle. I would endorse all the positive comments of previous reviews. Bow House is a fantastic place to stay and I would like to thank Beverley and Dave for making us feel so at home and contributing to a magical week-end.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The balcony with one of the rooms is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrislynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This latest trip was our second staying with Beverley and Dave who are a really friendly couple. What an excellent B&B, they tick ALL the excellent boxes - hospitality,comfort,rooms,breakfast and just going that extra mile to make sure you have the most enjoyable stay possible in Alnwick. This time it was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and what a lovely surprise to find a bouquet of flowers in our room. We would recommend Bow House to anyone wishing to visit Alnwick. We will return!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but one does have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay with David and Bev. The room was spotless, the facilities were great and the breakfast was really good. The only reason for four stars rather than five was the fact the the church bells ring all night and there was a lot of noise from locals over the road until late at night, which kept us awake. Obviously nothing that the owners can do about that and if we had been able to shut the window (not a good idea in the current heatwave) it would not have been a problem. Would happily recommend the place to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed here in June 2013 for 3 nights and bow house is brilliant. Really friendly people and cant do enough for you. The breakfast is really nice and the room was lovely. Will definatly stop there again, no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Any room, all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#9 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow House

Property: Bow House
Address: 49 St. Michaels Lane, Alnwick NE66 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow House is a 4* "Gold Standard" Georgian style Guest House, which has recently been built with utmost care to sympathetically reflect this important area of the town.Situated in the unspoiled conservation area along the line of the old town wall it is only a short stroll into the town centre where you can find local shops and restaurants alongside attractions such as the museum, castle and gardensWe are located close to the centre of the historic market town of Alnwick with its ever popular Castle and Gardens. Alnwick is easily accessed by road, rail, air and sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing