We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bow House
Ranked #4 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights - David and Beverley have thought of everything from the moment you enter the door - David shows you around and makes you very welcome - from the welcome sherry to departing everything was no trouble - booking our evening meals in the town, parking permits at the ready. Central location to Bookshop, Garden, Castle, Restaurants, Theatre/Cinema & shops. Lovely spacious comfortable room with ensuite shower and seating area. Fresh milk available, use of fridge facility in dinning room. Well worth the trip, very relaxing. Look forward to going again!!

Room Tip: Can recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alecandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Beverley and David cannot do enough for you. The accommodation is immaculate and so clean. The bedroom and en suite is lovely. Beautifully cooked breakfasts! Everything, and I mean everything, has been carefully thought through by the owners for guests, to ensure your stay is as perfect as is humanly possible..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We also stayed at Bow House for 3 nights from 14 August and cant agree more with previous review of this date. The owners, Beverley and David couldn't do enough for us, the room was spacious, well furnished, with everything you could need; the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and presented. Very convenient for the town, which has lots of good restaurants and is only a short stroll away. We would certainly choose Bow House again when we are next in Northumberland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a gem! We found this delightful B&B from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were given a friendly welcome by the owner after parking outside the property. Permits were given for parking here and elsewhere in the wider area. We have never been anywhere where there is so much attention to detail - even earplugs if the church clock was a problem. We couldn't think of anything we could possibly need that wasn't provided. The room was very spacious and everything was of high quality. There was a wide choice for breakfast and it was very nicely cooked. The town was only a 2 minute walk away. We would highly recommend Bow House to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Bow House! The rooms were clean, well appointed and spacious. David and Beverly were friendly, gracious, and helpful hosts. Everything we could possibly need was already thought of and the breakfasts were wonderful as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed with the quality of the rooms and comprehensive fittings. Everything we could possibly need was provided and there were thoughtful touches such as fresh milk in the fridge and free water in the bedrooms. David and Bev made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to be helpful: telephoning Bamburgh Castle to check it would be open when Prince Charles was there, making restaurant reservations and arranging a taxi for our departure. Bow House is in the centre of Alnwick so everything is in walking distance, including the Bus Station where there are buses to Bamburgh and other places along the coast. Finally the breakfasts with fresh fruit and local produce cooked to order made our stay complete.

Room Tip: There are 4 King size rooms but David and Bev will happily make one into a twin without compromising...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with David and Bev, cannot fault a single thing with this fantastic B&B. Luxurious bedrooms, immaculate decor, spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast and lovely hosts. Location was 2 minutes walk from the town and only 5 minutes from Alnwick Castle and gardens.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 69 in Alnwick
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow House

Address: 49 St. Michaels Lane, Alnwick NE66 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: $136 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow House is a 4* "Gold Standard" Georgian style Guest House, which has recently been built with utmost care to sympathetically reflect this important area of the town.Situated in the unspoiled conservation area along the line of the old town wall it is only a short stroll into the town centre where you can find local shops and restaurants alongside attractions such as the museum, castle and gardensWe are located close to the centre of the historic market town of Alnwick with its ever popular Castle and Gardens. Alnwick is easily accessed by road, rail, air and sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing