We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bow House
Ranked #4 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had been camping and had got wet, cold and fed up with being muddy. Bev and David could not have made us feel more welcome. They are a really nice couple and couldn't do enough for us. They had great advice about how to get the best of our short stay in Alnwick. Would recommend Bow House to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
230
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

great standard of rooms, made to feel very welcome and are every need catered for. David and Beverly made us feel at home, great breakfast something on the menu for everyone. nice touch of the beers,water and milk in the fridge. we highly recommend Bow house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzieb927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Can't recommend this b&b highly enough.

Very easy to find and externally it's a very nice building. We were given a vert warm welcome and smooth check-in. Then we were taken up to our lovely room with a good sized outside terrace complete with a table and chairs. It was a bit chilly the night we stayed so unfortunately couldn't sit out too long.

The room was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean. The bathroom and shower was fantastic too. The best way to describe it was like a home from home.

The owner couldn't have been more helpful, asked us if we had any plans for the evening and suggested a few restaurants for us to eat at. He even reserved us a table which turned out to be a good move as it was fully booked when we got there.

We also chose the "Northumberland Breakfast" for the next morning and it was as good as everything else about the hotel! I could hardly move when I'd finished!

Alnwick isn't a particularly large place, but the Bow House is perfectly placed. Around 2 minutes walk from a few local pubs and restaurants and about 5minutes walk to the gardens/castle.

It might not seem the cheapest on the face of things, but it was certainly worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadiseGardensOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you want a warm freindly welcome and 100% attention to customer satisfaction this is the place! We stayed here last weekend .We got the warm welcome and had a lovely stay.The breakfasts are carefully prepared with plenty to eat..didnt need lunch!The rooms are beautiful and roomy.We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highburylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Bow House was recommended by another B&B with no vacancies and all I can say is thank goodness! This has got to be the best B&B I have ever come across better than many hotels I have stayed in. We were met by David and Bev who are the loveliest most attentive hosts, they greeted us with a welcome cuppa and even sorted out local restaurant reservations for us.

Rooms are beautiful, gorgeous furnishings, soft fluffy towels, comfy beds and great spaces to relax - it makes a big difference when you can come back after a busy day to put your feet up on a leather chair or sofa rather than having to sit on the bed! My 8 year old daughter and I were also very impressed with the TV/DVD player in each room and free wifi.

Breakfasts were amazing, made all the better by the fact that David and Bev were willing to cook whatever we requested, catering for my daughters love of sausages and beans and chocolate chip muffins!

All in all an excellent 3 night stay which all three generations of my family loved - when visiting Northumberland again we will always stay at Bow House and recommend that family and friends do the same too. David and Bev deserve every success they are fantastic as is their gem of a B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed 4 days, made very welcome. Great accomodation and breakfast. Attention to detail well above the norm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Bow House is how all B & B's should be. It is excellently decorated, clean and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. David and Bev are superb hosts and the level of service surpasses that found in many "up market " hotels. The tea and cake on arrival after a long journey was a great touch. Breakfast cannot be faulted. If you are staying in Alnwick make sure you stay here and you will want to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow House

Property: Bow House
Address: 49 St. Michaels Lane, Alnwick NE66 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow House is a 4* "Gold Standard" Georgian style Guest House, which has recently been built with utmost care to sympathetically reflect this important area of the town.Situated in the unspoiled conservation area along the line of the old town wall it is only a short stroll into the town centre where you can find local shops and restaurants alongside attractions such as the museum, castle and gardensWe are located close to the centre of the historic market town of Alnwick with its ever popular Castle and Gardens. Alnwick is easily accessed by road, rail, air and sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing